Turkey and Chickpea Burgers

3 Feb

Tonight Jacob and I enjoyed a meal from my favorite magazine, Clean Eating Magazine.  There are always so many fresh, tasty, easy and healthy meal ideas.  I’m so excited to plow into the magazine when it shows up in the mail, reading every page and looking at every tasty recipe.

I made the turkey and chickpea burgers for dinner.  This recipe is super simple to make.  I threw some sweet potatoes, red potatoes and bell peppers in the oven while the burgers were cooking on the grill pan.  Voila dinner served in less than 30 minutes!

To make the burgers (semi-modified ;)) I added about 2 cups chickpeas, 2 TBSP Worcestershire sauce,1/4 cup diced red onion, 1 cup chopped spinach, 1 tsp cumin,  1/4 tsp sea salt and 1/2 tsp pepper in the food processor.  Pulsed until it was smooth then mixed 3/4 lb ground turkey in by hand in a separate bowl.  Formed 4 patties and cooked 4-6 minutes on each side.  Love the grill marks.

Some people might not like that big dark spot on their sweet potatoes, but I love when mine are super crispy and getting to the point of almost burned… is that weird?  I don’t me wrong I eat and enjoy my sweet potatoes all ways but when they’re sliced thin like that with a ton of curry all over then it’s definitely my favorite way to eat them.

*****

Time to back track

Looks like breakfast huh?

You’d probably think that but no it’s last night’s dinner.  I really wanted pancakes… lemon pancakes to be exact so I made some!  Jacob was all about the pancakes too which made me a happy girl.

I’ve turned today into my rest day.  After my interval run on Sunday, a 2.9 mile run with Jacob on Monday plus 20 minutes of Yoga for Runners and my sit ups for the 200 sit up challenge, then a P90X legs and back workout on Tuesday and an at least 1.5 – 2 mile walk I’m one tired gal.  I’m taking today off totally from exercise… not even doing my sit ups that I should be doing.

Rest and recovery is so important in any exercise plan.  My legs and glutes are definitely in need of some good recovery today.  When you notice the soreness sitting down and standing up you know you worked your muscles hard!  I’ll probably start tomorrow morning off with some yoga to get a good stretch in my legs and glutes.

Just 2 more days to try and win some protein powder… click here to enter!

4 Responses to “Turkey and Chickpea Burgers”

  1. Heather February 4, 2010 at 7:19 am #

    Oh I love the idea of adding chickpeas to turkey burgers! I like the crispy spots on my veggies too :)

  2. Erica February 4, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    Gotta love a healthy and fabulous meal that you can put together in 30 minutes! Very nice! I’m a big fan of brinner too. Glad you listened to your body and took a rest day- recovery is so so nice :)

  3. David Dierking February 4, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    We had pancakes the other night for dinner too. It was our 2 year old’s choice. She loves those things.

  4. Erica @ Fashion meets Food February 4, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Just found your blog! That meal looks so good!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

