Snowshoeing in Paradise

15 Feb

What a fun weekend snowshoeing!  I’m so sad that it’s over.

Friday afternoon Jacob and I left and headed up north to Seattle.  We enjoyed dinner at a New Orleans restaurant were I had some redfish.  The first couple bites were crazy hot but once my mouth got used to the flame I really enjoyed my meal.  

After a tasty, filling and healthy breakfast  at Portage Bay Cafe (I had the vegan pancakes -smashed bananas, coconut milk and oats- topped with a ton of fresh strawberries, blueberries and slivered almonds from their toppings bar) we were ready to head to Mount Rainier!

Around noon we arrived at Paradise.   Ready to head up the mountain!

Jacob
Aunt Arneta

Uncle Jerry

Aunt Arlene

Uncle Norge

And me!

Up we went

Stopped for lunch along the way… brrr I was cold once I sat down in the snow.  My snowboarding pants keep me dry and warm but I guess I needed more layers to flight the fluffy snow chill.


It was really fun going up the mountain and making our own paths.  The views were beautiful… especially when we could see them.

We went up a big hill and came to this view. It was a bit eerie with the super dark clouds but quite pretty at the same time.

And down we went for a totally of 2.5 miles on Saturday.

Sunday the visibility wasn’t as good at times the first half of our exploration.  We did mainly stay on the path just to make sure we wouldn’t get turned around and end up going the wrong direction.

Uncle Norge and Jacob went all over the place in the snow… silly guys :-)

We didn’t go quite as far on Sunday, but still went 1.7 miles.

Lovely  valentines day snowshoeing

I feel so lucky to live in the Pacific Northwest.  There is so much to do outdoors.  One weekend I can enjoy my time frolicking in the snow, and the next I can be surrounded in green growth hiking all over in search for beautiful waterfalls. 

Washington is such a fun area that I really haven’t started to fully enjoy and appreciate until the past couple years.  I truly look forward to all the adventures Jacob and I, and my family and friends will have on our future explorations.

7 Responses to “Snowshoeing in Paradise”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes February 15, 2010 at 9:10 pm #

    I miss the snow… I have never been snowshoeing, but it looks like sooo much fun!

  2. carol February 15, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    What a great weekend! Have you attempted the 200 yet? Mine is tonight-but the problem i have is the dog jumping all over me thinking its play time, and then i loose count.

  3. eatingRD February 15, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Snowshoeing is so much fun! Well, the one time Chris and I went there was a bad blizzard, but it was still awesome. We don’t get too much of that here in Vegas :) the pacific nw is beautiful, so glad you had a nice time! Egg white protein is another great source of protein if you tolerate that better than whey. Egg white actually has the highest rating of biological value (100) & other protein source ratings are based off egg whites :)

  4. Tina February 16, 2010 at 4:47 am #

    I love the outdoors too. That’s why I love where I live…lake, mountains, not too too far from beaches, but still pretty close to a big city too for cultural stuff and nice dining. Stinks we don’t ever really get snow though to not have that option. It looks so gorgeous and fun!

  5. Erica February 16, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Just gorgeous! What a trip- I would love to do something like this. You look adorable all bundled up. Sounds like you had a nice breakfast out too. I love love going to breakfast with Josh- I want to make it a weekend ritual

  6. Gina March 4, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I want to go snowshoeing! Can you recommend a place for beginners? Can you still go in March??!?!

    • Heather March 4, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      Gina, I don’t really know much about snowshoeing, that was actually my first time! We went to Paradise on Mt. Rainier and as a beginner it didn’t seem too difficult, but I don’t have anything to compare it to.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

