Strength training come back!

14 Mar

Looking back at my exercise page I was surprised to see that I hadn’t done any strenth training since March 3rd!  Maybe that’s why this mornings 60 minutes of chest, biceps, triceps and abs felt amazing.  I feel so strong and energized right now. 

After my workout I had an equally amazing bowl of oats. 

1/3 cup of rolled oats cooked in 2/3 cup water with a small handfull of raisins.  2 egg whites and tons of cinnamon whisked in at the end, then topped off with chia seed and peanut butter.

The egg whites make the oats so creamy… so so good.

*****

I did end up running on Friday like I planned and it turned out to be rain not shine.  The day before I picked up my very first hydration pack.  I was super excited to try it out since I hate carrying a water bottle with me when I run.  I usually just go without water, or try to find a water foundain along the way.  Now I have no excuse and can make sure to keep myself hydrated when the hot summer runs get here.

I didn’t really have a plan or idea of how far or where I wanted to run.  I just wanted to get out there and go.  It was fun and turned out to be a pretty good run – 6.4 miles in 60 mins: 30 sec.

That night for dinner I tried a new, quick way to make pizza.  At the store I picked up a pack of whole wheat naan (indian flatbread).  Topped 3 of them with homemade pesto I keep in the freezer, crimini mushrooms, sweet onion and fresh mozzarella.  They baked in the oven for about 10-13 minutes at 350 degrees.

Verdict: I will definately use naan as a pizza crust again.  Jacob and I loved how the outside got just a bit crunchy but the inside was left warm and soft.  I’ve tried tortilla, pita and english muffin as pizza crusts and they don’t compare to the naan.

Question:  Do you make pizza at home?  Do you make your own crust or go for quick crusts like those above?

I like to make my own but when I’m in a pinch I enjoy the convinience of already made whole wheat pizza crusts, or now naan!

5 Responses to “Strength training come back!”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes March 14, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    I love doing weights after a (usually much needed) break from lifting!

    Your pizza looks great. I sometimes make my own whole wheat pizza dough. But I LOVE quick “alternative” crusts a lot…

    Have a great week! :)

  2. Christie @ Honoring Health March 15, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    I do make pizza at home but I make it on portabella mushrooms. I’m gluten free and gluten free pizza crust isn’t exactly note worthy :D

  3. musingsofthegranolagirl March 15, 2010 at 8:05 am #

    I’ve made makeshift Naan bread pizza at home as well but never the real deal with homemade crusts, I would like to though! (Naan is just so delicious that I almost don’t want to give it up!)

  4. Gina (@ Looking Forward) March 15, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    I have used naan as pizza crust in the past and it was great! thanks for the reminder! I also like to get the pre-made (raw) dough at Trader Joe’s…you just have to let it rise for 20 min, then roll out and pick toppings and bake:)

  5. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 15, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    mmm love homemade pizza there is nothing ike HOMEMADE…although i did go to an awesome place this weekend that was AMAZING! thin, crispy and whole wheat crust!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

