Rockin Workout and Shepard’s Pie

18 Mar

How was everyones Saint Patrick’s Day??

Mine started out with a totally rockin leg, back, shoulders and ab workout.

After a 5 minute warm up and stretch here’s what I did.

Stationary lunge with row
Plie squat with shoulder press
Balance lunge with front and lateral raise
Pull up with hanging leg raise
Single leg dead lift
Rolling lunge with weighted arm circles
Chin ups with hanging bent knee oblique crunch
Squat with corkscrew shoulder press
Three angle calf raises
Leg circles and lifts
Bent leg lift and crunch
Seated leaning back crunch
Bent knee and straight leg oblique crunch
Mason twist with medicine ball

Including my cool down and stretch it all took 40 minutes.  I was SOO incredibly proud of myself for doing 5 chin ups and 3 pull ups.  Never have I done that many at one time!  WooHoo!!  I’m making progress with my pull up attempts.

I powered up with a great bowl of oats afterward.  The power part came from Jay Robb’s egg white protein powder.  They were kind enough to send me their vanilla, chocolate and strawberry egg white protein powder to try out. 

I added a 1/3 of the vanilla pack to my pumpkin oats.  I liked that the protein powder wasn’t overly sweet.  It combined nicely in my oatmeal and didn’t give it any weird texture. 

Plus knowing that it’s doesn’t have any of the list below in it makes me like it even more.  Check out the list from their website!

Contains No

  • Dairy
  • Casein
  • Lactose
  • Fructose
  • Aspartame
  • Acesulfame-K
  • Sucralose
  • Refined Sugar
  • Corn Syrup
     

  • Artificial Flavors
  • Artificial Sweeteners
  • Artificial Colors
  • Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Gluten
  • Wheat
  • Chemicals
  • Now available in eco-friendlier packaging

I can’t wait to try out the other flavors.  Check out their products if you’re looking for some tasty non-dairy protein powder!

Since it was in fact St. Patty’s day yesterday I had to make something special and it turned out amazing!

Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie

Ingredients for potatoes:

2 medium sweet potato, peeled and diced
1 medium yukon gold potato, peeled and halved
2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
1/4 tsp each paprika and garlic powder
1/8 tsp sea salt and pepper

Ingredients for filling:

1 tsp olive oil
1.25 lb lean ground turkey
2 large carrots, peeled and diced
1 sweet onion, diced
4 ounces sliced crimini mushrooms
1/4 tsp sea salt and pepper
2 tbsp flour
1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

Pre-heat your broiler to 500 degrees.  Bring a large pot of water to a boil with the potatoes in it.  Boil for about 12-15 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are fork tender.

In the mean time heat the oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the turkey and break it up occasionally.  Cook until the turkey browns then add the carrots and onions.  Cook for 2 minutes then add the mushrooms, sea salt and pepper.  Saute the mixture for about 5 minutes then add the flour and cook for 1 minute.  Next add the chicken broth and worcestershire sauce.  Cook for 2-3 minutes until the mixture thickens. 

Drain the potatoes when they’re done.  Transfer them to a bowl (or your standing mixer).  Add the yogurt, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper and using a hand mixer or standing mixer beat until smooth.

In a pie dish add the turkey mixture and top with the sweet potato mash.  Broil for 5 minutes – the top should be just barely browned in a few spots. 

This yummy, hearty pie serves 6.

We really enjoyed our St. Patty’s day dinner along with salad and soda bread. 

I think the recipe for soda bread from Nicole’s site would have been better if I had whole wheat flour at home, but instead I used up a bag of all purpose gluten free flour my mom gave me.  To tell you the truth I really was not a fan of the gummy flavor the flour gave off.  I’ll probably use the left over bread in a bread pudding this weekend to mask the flavor.  I was bummed out because it smelled so good baking – probably from the buttermilk.

I can’t wait to eat the leftover shepard’s pie for lunch today!

Did you make any fun recipes yesterday?

6 Responses to “Rockin Workout and Shepard’s Pie”

  1. Pam March 19, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    I love Jay Robb’s products!

    Just wanted to let you know that I received the package from DKB…..so yummy!

    Thanks again,

    xoxo

  2. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 19, 2010 at 5:41 am #

    YUM!! that looks so great! I love jay robb :)

  3. Nicole March 19, 2010 at 6:35 am #

    I’m sorry the bread didn’t turn out so well :( It was a little flour-y, but hubby loved it. I just needed a bit of jam on it, but I liked it!

    The Shephards pie looks wonderful, Heather!

    Have a wonderful weekend!

  4. eatingRD March 19, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I’ve never tried Jay Robb, but have wanted to :) What a great idea for shepard’s pie mmm have a good weekend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Trading Up Downtown » Blog Archive » Sweet Potato Shepard’s Pie - April 6, 2010

    [...] week’s Trade Up Recipe is from Heather at Getting Healthy with Healther. Heather is a 22-year-old fitness and health food enthusiast, who enjoys reading and learning about [...]

  2. Orange and thyme spiked green beans and the giveaway winner « Get Healthy With Heather - September 9, 2010

    [...] These beans would go great with herb roasted turkey, individual turkey meatloaf or sweet potato shepard’s pie. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

