Sweet stuff

2 May

This past weekend was filled with a lot of sweets.

Sweet cookies…


sweet coconut banana pancakes…


and sweet time spent with my family at the lake house.

Thursday night I wanted to make a batch of Marla’s Maple Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies because they just sounded so good.  The cookies were extremely easy to make and so delicious.  I only baked up half a batch because I don’t like having too many sweet around for me to munch on.  In addition to her ingredients I added 1/4 cup whole wheat pasty flour and 1/2 tsp baking powder to stabilize them a bit more.


I know for a fact Jacob will request these again :)

Friday morning HIIT (Hight Intensity Interval Training) was on my training schedule.  Here’s what I did:

13 minutes - warm up run
12 minutes – HIIT 30 second sprint/90 second jog x6
15 minutes – cool down run

Total: 4.3 miles in 40 minutes

Really I was only supposed to go for 3 miles but the place Jacob and I found to do our favorite HIIT makes the warm up/cool down longer.

After my run I was hungry and in the pancake mood.  I quickly threw together these cakey tasty treats. 

Coconut Banana Pancakes 

Ingredients

2 egg whites
1 medium ripe banana, mashed
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 tsp coconut oil
1 cup soymilk
1/4 cup coconut flour
1/4 cup millet flour
1/8 tsp sea salt
1/2 tsp baking powder
2 tsp shredded coconut

In a medium bowl beat the egg and banana together until it becomes a bit frothy.  Add the vanilla, oil and milk.  In a small bowl combine the remaining ingredients then add to the egg-banana mixture.  Stir until everything is combined.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat and coat with olive oil spray (or coconut butter if you prefer).  Pour in half of the batter to form 3 pancakes.  Cook on the first side until you start to see tiny bubbles (3-5 minutes), flip and cook about 3-4 more minutes until done.  Repeat with the remaining batter to end with 6 pancakes.

I topped mine off with warmed, smashed blueberries and sliced almonds.  It was a treat.  These pancakes are on the cakey side.  They are not your typical fluffy, light pancake.

Today I’ve got a 7 miler on my schedule but all I really want to do is yoga which I haven’t done in weeks!  I’ll probably be giving into the yoga calling soon and plan to run tomorrow after work.  Our exercise room is heating up right now.  It just sounds so nice on a cloudy cold day to spend 90 minutes in a warm room stretching and strengthening any aches I have.  Pretty sweet huh?

Last sweet stuff of the day…


I won a bunch of Deep Chocolate Vitatops from Nicole a couple weeks ago and they came in the mail late last week.  They are quite chocolately but have such a LONG list of ingredients.  I don’t ever see myself buying them because of that… plus they have sugar alcohols in them which tend to upset my stomach in a not so lady like way if I eat too much of it.

This little stash I’ve got in my freezer will last a while though and will definitely curb my chocolate sweet tooth for only 100 calories with 6 grams of fiber, so that’s a pretty cool deal.  I’ll probably make my own high fiber chocolate muffin stash once they are gone.

7 Responses to “Sweet stuff”

  1. Lauren @ Eat, Drink, and Be Hopeful May 3, 2010 at 9:00 am #

    coconut banana pancakes? YES PLEASE! I must try this recipe. And I still have yet to try vitatops. I have no idea where to find them!

  2. cardiopizza May 3, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Sugar alcohols and my stomach do NOT agree! I avoid them at all costs! I hate all that fake crap.

    You’ve got some great recipes in here!! Those cookies look great….I would have to cut the recipe down too since I’m all alone…I dont want to eat em’ all! haha!

  3. Swanky Dietitian May 3, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    The coconut banana pancakes sound delicious! I love pancakes and have the stuff at home..for some reason I just forget to make them.
    Sounds like you had a nice weekend..sometimes you need a little sweet in your life.

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) May 3, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    everyone is making coconut pancakes using the cocnut flour!! I need to get on this and get some coconut flour! they look So good!

    I got a whole box of vitas for free and they still are in my freezer, i totally agree with you! i keep them there when I want a sweet treat once in a while!

  5. Kris | iheartwellness.com May 3, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    These pancakes look FAB doll!!! I love using coconut flour in my flapjacks as it makes them so sweet and fluffy!!

    I must make these and try them without the eggs :|

    XXOO

  6. Nicole May 4, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    Those pancakes look amazing! Sorry about the VitaTop laundry list :( I hope you’re able to enjoy a few as a treat, though! :)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Best Waffles « Get Healthy With Heather - November 4, 2010

    [...] hungry and look forward to a warm, comforting breakfast.  I really enjoy oatmeal, quinoa, pancakes, french toast and eggs for breakfast, but for some reason thought waffles just took to much [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

