Mocha Chocolate Chip Muffins

17 Jul

There are days when all I want to end with is chocolate.  After a long week I crave being in the kitchen.  It’s a relaxing place for me, especially when I get the chance to bake a bit.

The only bad part about baking is that then I want to eat it all.  Small batches become a necessity.

These mocha chocolate chip muffins come together in less than 5 minutes, and will be out of the oven in 20.  Be careful though, the coffee and chocolate in them will keep you up at night.  The longer you are up the more of these chocolately treats you may eat.

You’ve been warned.

In my attempt to make this treat a bit more nutritious I added fava bean and chickpea flour.  Of course if you do not have this on hand you can substitute with additional whole wheat pastry flour or another gluten-free flour.  The applesauce keeps the muffins moist and the coffee lends a depth to the chocolate.

I hope you enjoy these.  Jacob and I sure did. 

Mocha Chocolate Chip Muffins

Ingredients:

3/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
1/4 cup fava bean and chickpea flour
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup dutch cocoa powder
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/8 tsp sea salt
1 tbsp cornstarch

1/3 cup apple sauce
3/4 cup coffee
1 tsp vanilla

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips
optional – more dark chocolate chips to top the muffins

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  In a large bowl combine all the dry ingredients (flours, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt and cornstarch).  Stir until thoroughly mixed, leaving no lumps. 

In a smaller bowl combine the remaining wet ingredients (apple sauce, coffee and vanilla) excluding the chocolate chips.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and mix until smooth and combined.  Stir in the chocolate chips.

Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup pour the mixture into 8 regular sized muffin tins coated with olive oil spray.  Top each muffin with a few additional chocolate chips if desired.

Bake for 20 minutes.  Remove from the oven when a toothpick comes out clean.  After 5 minutes gently remove the muffins from the tin and enjoy.

 

11 Responses to “Mocha Chocolate Chip Muffins”

  1. Faith July 17, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    They may induce a vicious cycle, but it seems like one worth braving ;) Coffee + chocolate = perfection!

  2. Andrea@WellnessNotes July 17, 2010 at 7:13 pm #

    These sound perfect! I LOVE coffee… :)

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) July 18, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    I am the same way about baking, I want to eat it all! That is why I don’t end up baking all that much.
    Those look delicious! Anything chocolate has my stamp of approval.

  4. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com July 18, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    HEATHER, these look TO DIE FOR!! so amazing <3

  5. Nicole July 19, 2010 at 6:13 am #

    Those sound wonderful! I love mocha chocolate anything!

  6. Ed July 19, 2010 at 1:13 pm #

    These look super delicious! I’m not a coffee fan, so I may make some substitutions. I wonder if they would be good for breakfast? I hope!

  7. lizlivingvegan July 20, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    those look amazing!!! I want one!!!

  8. Marla July 20, 2010 at 11:20 am #

    Heather these chocolate mocha muffins look irresistible. I could not be around them long because I too would eat them all :) xo

  9. lizlivingvegan July 20, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    I’m totally making these muffins right now!! They will be in a future post, for sure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mocha Muffins & Banana Cookies! « Lizlivingvegan's Blog - July 21, 2010

    [...] Muffins & Banana Cookies! July 21, 2010 by lizlivingvegan I saw this delicious Mocha Muffin recipe on Get Healthy With Heather‘s blog and they looked amazing, so I knew I’d have [...]

  2. Mocha Muffins -Enjoy with Friends « Lizlivingvegan's Blog - August 2, 2010

    [...] from Get Healthy With Heather [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

