Sore muscles

11 Aug

Do you ever wonder why you don’t feel sore for 1-2 days after a tough workout?  Well DOMS has a little something to do with that. 

DOMS stands for Delayed Onset Muscle Soreness.  DOMS is a normal response to extra effort put out by the muscles during activities, especially when it is a new activity or an increased level of activities.

After a week off from strength training while I was on vacation I was looking forward to this soreness.  Is that strange?  Not really in my book, that just means I worked really hard!

Monday evening we completed the P90X chest, shoulders and triceps plus abs workout and I was feeling it, especially during the push ups.  The next day I could already can feel my soreness kicking in.  It’s the perfect amount of soreness too.  I can feel my muscles but it isn’t debilitating me in any way.

When exercising you don’t want to push yourself to the limit where you aren’t able to move the next day.  I worked out to exhaustion during this workout but still feel like I can move around today.  It could be that I’m not in the full DOMS stage yet because for me it usually kicks in after 2 days, but 1 if I worked out extra hard.

Although there is not one specific way to treat DOMS here are some tips I use to I help reduce it for myself:

1. Take a walk to get the blood flowing and circulating properly.
2. Stretch lightly after an easy warm up (walking).
3. Get a massage – although painful at the time they always help me out.
4. Go swimming – this non-weight bearing activity helps loosen my sore muscles.
5. Ice.  No fun but it helps.
6. Rest and recover.

Injury is not what we want when we exercise so make sure to be smart, consistent and have good form so that exercising is something that can continue without unwanted breaks.

 Do you enjoy a little DOMS after a workout?

9 Responses to “Sore muscles”

  1. TheHealthyApron August 11, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    I love the feeling of soreness after a workout! I definitely believe active recovery is best but you are right, don’t push yourself beyond the limits! The hubs is horrible though, he will get really sore and then not want to do anything for the next 4 days! I need to show him this! thanks!

  2. in105days August 11, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    Thanks for the tips! I just got a sore muscle the other day from working out. Ice, here I come!

  3. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 11, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I have definitely experienced DOMS! I like to do a really light workout – such as a brisk walk – to loosen up my muscles and get them moving.

  4. Shanna, like Banana August 11, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    This happens to me a day after I take Bikram….I like the remedy of massage 😉

  5. Ken Zelez August 11, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Super article with great tips. I also think your site is full of good material. Massage is a great way to help muscles recover and identify sore spots. I liked that you also mentioned active recovery such as walking and swimming.

  6. Lindsay August 13, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    I do enjoy DOMS. I know I need to stretch stretch stretch after a leg workout or I’ll be “duck walkin” for a few days.

  7. Nicole August 13, 2010 at 3:41 am #

    Massages can be so painful if you’re sore! But they hurt so good, right? 🙂

    Have a great weekend, Heather!

  8. janetha g. August 13, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    not gonna lie.. i LOVE me some DOMS!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. P90X week 7 recap « Get Healthy With Heather - August 18, 2010

    […] Aug After a week of vacation and non-P90X workouts I had major DOMS during the first few days of week 7… and it felt […]

Leave a comment