Fluffy chia and hemp seed breakfast quinoa

16 Aug

If you are an oatmeal lover like me, you will love this breakfast.  I switched out the oats for quinoa and with a little bit of prep the night before you can have an easy and healthy breakfast ready faster than those old-fashioned oats take to cook.

Quinoa is one nutrient packing, ancient seed (also called pseudo grain).  It is a complete protein, which can be difficult to find in a vegetarian form.  I love it for lunch and dinner, now here’s one more way I can enjoy it for breakfast too! 

Fluffy chia and hemp seed breakfast quinoa

Ingredients (4 servings)

1 cup quinoa, rinsed
2 cups water
1 tsp vanilla
1 tbsp cinnamon
pinch of sea salt

The night before, or the morning of bring all of the ingredients above to a boil in a pot on the stove.  Cover and simmer for 15 minutes, or until the liquid is absorbed.

Separate into 4 bowl, cool to room temperature, cover and place in the fridge for the night.

The next morning take out your bowl and mix in (this is for each serving):

1/2 cup soymilk
1 tbsp chia seed 

Stir and let it sit for 5-10 minutes.  Warm in the microwave for 60-90 seconds, or alternatively you can enjoy it cold.

Top with a small spoonful of peanut butter and 1 tbsp of hemp seed.

I love the texture in this breakfast.  Sometimes oatmeal can get too soft.  This has a bit of a bite to it adding to the fun of eating.

10 Responses to “Fluffy chia and hemp seed breakfast quinoa”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self August 17, 2010 at 5:43 am #

    I just bought chia seeds and have been looking for fun ways to incorporate them! This sounds great! :)

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) August 18, 2010 at 7:43 am #

    I love quinoa but have never thought of using it for breakfast. This sounds delicious! I am going to have to see if I have quinoa in my pantry because I will definitely have to make this.

  3. Erica August 18, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    What a great breakfast- I am definitely going to try this. Being a veg- I’m a huge quinoa fan due to its protein content and great taste. Hope your week is treating you well

  4. Heather August 18, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    um, i am totally drooling! this looks like the perfect way to start the morning :)

  5. Tina August 18, 2010 at 6:06 pm #

    It all sounds good! Except the chia seeds. I can’t get past the gooey texture they turn into.

  6. eatingRD August 19, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    This looks like my kind of breakfast!! I’ve wanted to try quinoa in the am too :)

  7. Kyla August 21, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    i have quinoa for breakfast almost everyday, it’s so good…i love that is more of a “complete” food compared to oats…lots of options too. thanks for sharing!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My First and Last Taste | Swanky Dietitian - August 22, 2010

    [...] breakfast, I decided to try out Heather’s delicious breakfast quinoa.  I hadn’t gone to the grocery store yet, so I had to leave out a few [...]

  2. How to make egg white oatmeal « Get Healthy With Heather - October 13, 2010

    [...] I’ll prep breakfast too, like my warm quinoa or make extra pancakes to re-heat, but most of the time I like to cook a warm [...]

  3. The Best Waffles « Get Healthy With Heather - November 4, 2010

    [...] already hungry and look forward to a warm, comforting breakfast.  I really enjoy oatmeal, quinoa, pancakes, french toast and eggs for breakfast, but for some reason thought waffles just took to [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

