Orange and thyme spiked green beans and the giveaway winner

9 Sep

My produce delivery included a pound of fresh, local green beans. 

Last week I grilled my beans on the BBQ and loved every bite.  With fresh produce, simple preparation of olive oil, sea salt and pepper works well every time. 

Sometimes I do want something a little extra though.  A splash of orange and zest adds a tasty refreshing flavor.  Fresh thyme pairs perfectly with this duo of orange and beans.

Orange and Thyme Spiked Green Beans

Ingredients:

1 pound of green beans, cleaned
1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 an orange
1 tbsp fresh thyme
pinch of sea salt

Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the beans and cook for 5 minutes, tossing around every minute or so. 

Zest 1 tbsp of orange from the rind and juice the remaining orange.  Add the orange juice and cook for another 3 minutes.  Stir in the zest, fresh thyme and sea salt right before serving. 

These beans would go great with herb roasted turkey, individual turkey meatloaf or sweet potato shepard’s pie.

CSN Giveaway Winner

Congrat’s to ………

#11

Mel September 5, 2010 at 8:25 am Edit #

 

Oh my goodness… I keep my favorite pancake recipe bookmarked so I can quickly pull it up! Surprised I don’t have it memorized by now….

http://recipes.runnersworld.com/Recipe/OatmealButtermilkandBerryPancakes.aspx

Yum :)

I can’t wait to try those oatmeal buttermilk and berry pancakes.  Send me an email (gethealthywithheather@comcast.net) and I’ll get the CSN info to you. 

There were 7 pancake recipes left from Natalie, Janetha, Jodie, my Aunt Carol (my mom’s recipe that I know),  Emily N, Naomi and Mel.  Over the next few weeks my goal is try to each of those recipes so I’ll be posting  what I thought of each I go along.  I love pancakes so this is going to be fun!

4 Responses to “Orange and thyme spiked green beans and the giveaway winner”

  1. Nicole September 10, 2010 at 11:12 am #

    Congrats to the winner! I can’t wait to hear about the pancake recipes…I’m a sucker for a good pancake! I’m going to try protein pancakes this weekend, actually :) Have a good weekend, Heather!

  2. Kristen (swanky dietitian) September 10, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    I love the idea of adding orange to green beans. Sounds delicious!
    Green beans are up there on my list of favorite vegetables!

  3. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} September 10, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    Whoever invented the idea of green beans with citrus was a genius! Heather, your green beans sounds delish :) Have a wonderful weekend!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Naomi’s protein packed pancakes « Get Healthy With Heather - September 14, 2010

    [...] 14 Sep Like I said I would, I tried one of the 7 pancake recipes shared with me. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

