Ruby red mixed veggie hash with crock pot italian chicken

21 Oct

I felt pretty crummy last night when I got home from work.  I’ve been battling a head cold since the weekend when I did my 15 intervals in the cold outdoors.  When  40 degree wind goes in my ears it just gets to me… I really should have worn a hat or headband.  Lesson learned.

Usually when I’m feeling sick all I want is carbs – oatmeal, PBJs and crackers.  Last night was different.  Last night I wanted veggies.  It was the perfect choice because my produce delivery came that day too.

CIMG4223

The night before I prepped the crock pot with a whole chicken seasoned with Italian spices, sea salt and pepper.  I also coated it with a mist of olive oil too.  I had the butcher remove the skin so that I wouldn’t have to.  It definitely saved me some time.

CIMG4256

In the morning Jacob pulled the chicken out of the oven, set the crock pot for 6 hours on low and I came home to a wonderful smelling house.

CIMG4258

The chicken was out of this world tender.  Falling off the bones good.

Next up were my veggies and a whole lot of them.

Ruby Red Mixed Veggie Hash

CIMG4261

Ingredients

1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 medium yukon gold potato, diced
1/2 an onion, diced
1/2 a red bell pepper, diced
1 small beet, grated
10 green bean, chopped
6 swiss chard leaves (or beet greens if that’s all you have), chopped – include the stems if you’d like
Sea salt and pepper to taste

Place a large skillet over medium-high heat and add the olive oil.  Add the potatoes to the pan and cook for about 5-7 minutes, stirring every so often. 

Add in the onion and bell pepper once the potatoes look half way cooked through. 

After 2 minutes add the add the grated beets and beans. 

Cook for another 2-3 minutes then add the swiss chard. 

Season with sea salt and pepper and cook until the swiss chard has wilted down a bit, for about 3-4 minutes.

This makes enough for 2 sides or 1 large meal.

Top with some chicken, or whatever protein you have on hand.

CIMG4264

Finish with some grated parmesan cheese to make it extra special.

CIMG4267

I feel better already.

8 Responses to “Ruby red mixed veggie hash with crock pot italian chicken”

  1. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} October 21, 2010 at 6:06 am #

    Heather – this is the perfect meal! LOVE that slow cooked chicken and must try it over here. Chard is one of my all time favorite recipes. Some great cooking girl!

  2. ihearteggs October 21, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Oh wow.. that chicken looks FANTASTIC! I am definitly going to have to try that.

  3. Balanced Healthy Life October 21, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    I love that veggie and fruit pic! Seeing all those fresh veggies and fruits makes me a happy girl!

  4. Andrea@WellnessNotes October 21, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    The meal looks great! Hope you’ll feel better soon!

  5. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 21, 2010 at 5:40 pm #

    I’m still salivating over your veggie delivery. Do you do a CSA?

    • GetHealthyWithHeather October 22, 2010 at 4:13 am #

      Hey Lily, it’s not a CSA, it’s a local organic produce delivery company that gets fruits/veggies locally if possible.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Color your diet « Get Healthy With Heather - October 22, 2010

    [...] Dinner: Ruby red mixed veggie hash with crockpot Italian chicken [...]

  2. Filling fall pancakes « Get Healthy With Heather - October 25, 2010

    [...] pancakes are an easy way to sneak more veggies into your breakfast.  I bet kids wouldn’t even know there was a vegetable in there… I know [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

