Chinese Beef and Bok Choy Noodle Soup

30 Oct

Comfort.  That’s the first word that comes to mind when I think of soup.  Thankfully I’m feeling 100% again, but while I feel great I passed my cold onto my husband.  On his worst days he just wanted soup for dinner. 

The first night I opened up a can of chicken noodle soup for him while I still had the dinner I originally planned to make.  The second night I thought I’d take advantage of his willingness to eat soup and make my own.

I had a lot of bok choy on hand from not 1 week, but 2 weeks of my produce delivery.  I’d been avoiding it because normally I use it in a stir fry and I just haven’t been in the mood for that.

CIMG4292

Then it hit me – put it in a soup.  I try to get as many veggies in as I can and I knew it would wilt down a lot once cooked.  I think this may be my new favorite way to eat bok choy.

CIMG4297

Chinese Beef and Bok Choy Noodle Soup

about 5-6 servings

Ingredients

  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 lb lean ground beef
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 1 tbsp fresh ginger, grated (tip: after peeling the ginger keep it in the freezer in a zip lock bag that way you always have ginger on hand when you need it)
  • 3 cans (14.5 ounce each) low sodium chicken broth (homemade chicken broth would cut down on the sodium level here)
  • 2 bunches bok choy greens, thinly sliced
  • 8 ounces whole wheat spaghetti or angel hair
  • 1 tbsp tamari
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • sea salt and pepper to taste
  • sesame seeds for garnish

Directions

  1. In a large pot over medium heat add the oil, beef, onion and ginger.  Cook, stir and break up the meat until it’s just fully cooked –  no longer pink.  Remove from the pot and set aside.
  2. Add the broth, bok choy, noodles, tarami and vinegar to the pot.  Bring to a boil and cook 8-10 minutes, or until the noodles are tender.  Add the beef mixture to the pot and sea salt and pepper if needed.
  3. Serve in a bowl garnished with sesame seeds and chop sticks if desired.

CIMG4298

Variations

  • Instead of beef use ground chicken or ground turkey
  • For extra heat add in some Sriracha hot sauce
  • Instead of spaghetti or angel hair use soba noodles for a more authentic Chinese dish

This was actually pretty fun to eat because I used chop sticks.  My chop stick skills definitely need more practice.  Good thing there are left overs.

5 Responses to “Chinese Beef and Bok Choy Noodle Soup”

  1. Erica October 30, 2010 at 9:36 am #

    With this homemade soup, I bet you’re an awesome nurse :) Hope the man feels better quick. I haven’t cooked bok choy at home- I really want to. Have a great night

  2. Kris | iheartwellness.com October 30, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Yum, Yum, YUMMM I love Bok Choy and I just found out how good it is for you! this looks delish!

    Where did you get this sexy dinnerware from? I heart it!

    xxoo

  3. kbwood October 31, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    YUM girl! I have been on a total soup kick lately- adding this to my list!

  4. Lily @ Lily's Health Pad October 31, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    MMMmmmm…I could go for some soup right now…very fall. I haven’t really eaten much bock choy in my life, but it is a green I’m intruiged by.

  5. Bianca @ Confessions of a Chocoholic October 31, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    This sounds awesome! I’ve never actually cooked with bok choy before but I really like it, so I want to try cooking with it soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

