Pomegranate and Peanut Smoothie

3 Nov

Did you join in on this week’s mini-challenge: kitchen lifts?  It takes less than a minute of your time each time you go into the kitchen so come on – join in!

After discovering how easy it is to de-seed a pomegranate, I’ve been having fun using the seeds in many recipes.  I’ve also enjoyed just eating them on their own too.  I had fun with this refreshing pomegranate filled afternoon pick up me and loved how simple, quick and pretty it was too.

CIMG4318

I finally made the trip to Trader Joes to pick up some peanut flour.  I haven’t been able to find it anywhere else and really wanted to give it a try.  It’s lower in fat and higher in protein than regular peanuts, plus it gives that peanut butter-y taste to my smoothie that I love.

CIMG4352

Pomegranate and Peanut Smoothie

makes 1 serving

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup milk of choice
  • 1/4 cup peanut flour
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate seeds (arils)
  • 1/2 frozen banana, diced
  • 6-8 ice cubes
  • optional: extra pomegranate seeds for garnish

Directions

  1. Pour the milk, peanut flour and pomegranate seeds into a blender.  Blend until smooth and combined.
  2. Add the frozen banana and ice cubes.  Blend for 1-2 more minutes until fluffy and frothy.  Pour into a glass or mug and top with extra seeds.
4 Responses to “Pomegranate and Peanut Smoothie”

  1. allieksmith November 3, 2010 at 2:54 pm #

    I haven’t tried peanut flour (scared) but you make it look easy :) Thank you for the nice post!

  2. Helen November 3, 2010 at 5:45 pm #

    That looks really good. I love smoothies! I have been wanting to try that peanut flour, I have to order it online – no TJ’s where I live :(

  3. Faith November 4, 2010 at 7:03 am #

    Wow.. this pomegranate with peanut smoothie makes me hungry! I love it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make custard oats « Get Healthy With Heather - November 11, 2010

    [...] into a bowl and top with fresh fruit, nut butters, granola, seeds or whatever you like.  Pomegranates go great with a subtle peanut [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 33 other followers

