The Best Waffles

4 Nov

I’ve said it many times before and I’ll say it again, breakfast is my favorite meal of the day.  When I wake up in the morning I’m usually already hungry and look forward to a warm, comforting breakfast.  I really enjoy oatmeal, quinoa, pancakes, french toast and eggs for breakfast, but for some reason thought waffles just took to much time.

CIMG4204

Not sure where that thought came from because it seems to take less time than pancakes.  The nice thing about making waffles is that once you pour the batter into the waffle maker it does the work for you.  I don’t have to keep a close eye on it and once the light changes it’s cooked perfectly.

This recipe for whole grain cottage cheese waffles is similar to my butternut squash cottage cheese pancakes, but a more basic recipe.  It’s a good base to start with if you want to add in variations.

Jacob has even said these are the best waffles he’s ever had!  I’ve made them at least once or twice a week for the past 3 weeks.  The extra waffles hold up well in the fridge.  It’s nice making a big batch and having waffles ready in the fridge.

CIMG4213

The Best Whole Grain Cottage Cheese Waffles

makes 4 servings

Ingredients

  • 1 + 1/4 cup whole wheat pasty flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup cottage cheese
  • 1 cup milk of choice
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • optional: 1 tbsp maple syrup

Directions

  1. Turn your waffle iron on and begin to heat it up while you make the batter.
  2. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and salt in a large bowl.
  3. In a blender combine the eggs, cottage cheese, milk and vanilla (plus optional maple syrup).  Blend until smooth and pour into the bowl with the dry ingredients.  Mix until well combined.
  4. Once the waffle iron is ready,coat it generously with olive oil spray.  Pour the batter into iron (about 1 cup batter) and cook until your waffle iron lights up as done.  Repeat with remaining batter for 4 waffles.

CIMG4209

I had my waffles with some quick homemade cinnamon applesauce and almond butter, but you can top them with whatever you enjoy.

CIMG4207

Quick Homemade Cinnamon Applesauce 

makes 1-2 waffle topping servings , depending on the side of your apple

Ingredients

  • 1  apple, finely chopped with the skin left on
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp water
  • optional: honey or sweetener

Directions

  1. Combine all ingredients, except the sweetener in a microwave safe bowl. 
  2. Cook on high for 60-90 seconds, or until the apples are completely soft.
  3. Mash with a fork or potato masher until it reaches you desired consistency.  Taste and add sweetener if you’d like.

CIMG4205

8 Responses to “The Best Waffles”

  1. Faith November 4, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    I am like you Heather! love to have a perfect breakfast! Mike doesn’t eat breakfast at all :(. Your cinnamon applesauce looks great!

  2. Helen November 4, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    I love waffles!! I like to make extra for the fridge as well, but usually the kiddos eat them up. However, I am so ready to get home and try that applsauce!!

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) November 4, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    I love homemade waffles!! I love the idea of adding cottage cheese to them for more protein.
    That applesauce seems like the perfect addition as well!

  4. The Candid RD November 4, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Seriously? Cottage cheese in my waffles?! That’s brilliant! If I made these I would have to keep my mouth shut about the cottage cheese, because Nick wouldn’t eat them. They sound amazing to me though. Thanks for the recipe! Now I need my own waffle maker…. my parents have one and I use it a lot, but we need one of our own!

  5. Tina November 4, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    I could eat breakfast for every meal. I love it so much. That applesauce sounds really good.

  6. Angie's Recipes November 4, 2010 at 9:49 pm #

    The waffles together with apple sauce make a nutritious and delicious breakfast!You know I still have some pear butter, maybe I should make some waffles for the breakfast this weekend. :-))

  7. Joslyn @ missfitbliss November 5, 2010 at 4:25 am #

    That applesauce and almond butter combo sounds like an excellent topping for just about anything!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

