Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Doubles

10 Nov

So far I’ve gone through 3 weekly workout mini-challenges: pull ups, squats and kitchen lifts (calf raises).  I hope some of you have taken part in them too!  It’s been an easy and not overbearing way to move a bit more throughout the day. 

I have a big challenge I’m working on that will kick off my 2nd year here on Get Healthy with Heather.  More on that fun challenge soon, but for now I’m going to combine 2 recent challenges for this week’s workout mini-challenge. 

I found the most benefit to come from the pull ups and squats.  The pull ups will stay at the bathroom station, but the squats will move to my kitchen station.  I like variety so having both of these going on for the next 7 days will be a fun change.

Doubles Workout Mini-Challenge

I set up my pull up bar in the bathroom door so every time I go to use the bathroom I have to do 2 pull ups.

I’ll switch between close grip pull ups and chin ups for a bit of variety.  Again I’ll try to incorporate a few wide grip pull ups because I have a never ending battle with those.

Check out the original post for modification to the pull up bar exercise.

CIMG4143 CIMG4144

In the kitchen I’ve set up my squat station.  I put a note on my fridge that says -10 squats – so each time I go into the kitchen I do 10 squats.  Easy as that.

I’m leaving out my 10 lb kettlebell this time just because I don’t really have a place to put it in the kitchen.

Squat 1Squat 2

Make sure your knees do not go forward beyond your toes, so you’re really sitting back and down during this exercise.  Keep your core stable by contracting your abs.

This week will focus not only on one muscle group but multiple with the upper body pull up and lower body squat.

What challenge will you take on for the next 7 days?

10 Responses to “Wednesday’s Weekly Workout Mini-Challenge: Doubles”

  1. Mary @ stylefyles November 10, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I love mini workouts like these. I’ve been known to do wall squat/calf raise/pushup/lunge combos while watching TV and/or while enjoying a brewski or glass of wine.

    Hey, there’s no reason you can’t sip ‘n squat =)

  2. julie November 10, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    girl those pullups are intense!

  3. Pure2raw twins November 10, 2010 at 7:41 pm #

    I still have not tried pull-ups. Maybe one day? HAHA

  4. Tracey November 10, 2010 at 7:53 pm #

    I’m very impressed with anyone who can do a pull-up!

    During the next 7 days I’m going to work on getting my water in. For some reason I’m having a hard time with it these days.

  5. Kris | iheartwellness.com November 10, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    ok, pull ups kill me! What is your secret? I love the pics of you squatting….too cute :)

    Keep up the great work!

    xxoo

    • GetHealthyWithHeather November 11, 2010 at 5:22 am #

      Kris – Forcing myself to try is how I go there. When I was first gaining strength I used a chair or had my feet in the door frame helping me. Eventually I gained more strength and was able to do them on my own.

  6. Faith November 11, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    Great job Heather! You inspire me to work out everytime I see your great posts. You go girl!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How to make custard oats « Get Healthy With Heather - November 11, 2010

    [...] you join in on the mini-challenge?  Those that have, how’s your second day going?  Keep up the good [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

