The run that kept on going

15 Nov

I just entered into week 3 of my half marathon training.  The first  couple weeks have gone by with different strides.  Week 1 was filled with excitement.  I ran 5 times, felt great and followed my plan.

Week 2 was filled with excuses.  I ran 3 times and they felt like pretty tough runs.

Week 3 started on Sunday with my long run – 6 miles.  My little brother (who’s running the half as well) and I set off in the late drizzly morning.  I could tell another tough run was going to happen.  I struggled and had to tell Trevor to not let me walk.  I just wanted to pack up my suitcase and get out of there, but I knew it would be over soon enough if I just kept one foot in front of the other.

r6

I had to play tricks with my mind to get through it – I’d find an object about 200-300 meters ahead and tell myself I only had to run till there.  Once I got there I’d pick a new object.  It actually worked pretty well.

In the end it turns out we were running pretty fast which is why the run was so challenging.  Trevor is a fast runner, but usually slows down for me.  Last week’s 5.5 mile long run was done at 8:40min/mile.  Sunday’s 6.1 mile run was at 8:10min/mile.  Yikes!  I’ve never ran that fast but it explains why I had such a tough time getting through it.

Looks like I’m making my way to the 8min/mile goal for the half marathon.  I just have to make sure I run with my buddy because I know I won’t be moving my legs that fast on my own.

Do you run/exercise with anyone?  Does it motivate you to go faster/work harder? It sure does for me.

7 Responses to “The run that kept on going”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes November 15, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    I used to work out with a friend (and at one point hubby), but I don’t at the moment due to time issues. And, yes, working out with someone else is very motivating!

  2. Faith November 15, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    I don’t think I will be able to do 8min/mile run ever! You’re so good at that. Workinhg out with someone else is very motivating. It keeps you going. Way to go Heather :)

  3. Kristen (swanky dietitian) November 15, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    I often pick objects for me to run to as well. I will say, “If I just make it there, I can walk if I need to”. It definitely helps.
    I workout both alone and with people. For my 1/2 marathon training, I found it super helpful to train with my coworkers.
    Great job on picking up your pace!

  4. Nicole, RD November 15, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Wow! What a pace! I love that your brother is running the half, too..and that you get to train with him! That’s wonderful :) I do that a lot – pick an object in the distance and get to that point and then continue…I agree, very helpful!

  5. Erica November 15, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Great job! I always find it amazing how easy some runs are, while others feel impossible. 8 minutes is a FABULOUS goal! You can totally do it. I like running alone most of the time, but like a partner (like my tall husband) for a good challenge

  6. marlameridith November 15, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    Congrats on completing that difficult run. Your brought back many memories of when I used to have runs like that. Tricky to get through, but you are happy when they are done!

  7. Diana (Soap & Chocolate) November 15, 2010 at 7:17 pm #

    Wow, you’re fast! I prefer to work out solo, usually because I’m way focused on my tunes. :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 32 other followers

