Thanksgiving Kick Off

23 Nov

Even though mother nature was not on my side I was able to knock out 9.2 miles (87 minutes).  The first 5 minutes were cold and a bit rainy, and I had dressed for cold and rainy.  I wasn’t expecting the sun to shine for about 20 minutes which made me feel extremely over dressed.  Luckily the rain came back, a bit harder than I’d prefer but it made my run much more comfortable.  All in all, the run went well and I was glad to see that my pace was just under 9:30/per mile.

When I got back I snacked on an apple and finished off the left over Eggplant Parmesan and wheat berry salad for lunch.  I decided that Sunday was going to start Thanksgiving off.  Jacob had been asking for a pumpkin pie so I thought I’d make one since I’d be roasting a turkey breast for dinner… our own mini Thanksgiving dinner Heather style!

I didn’t feel like going to the store after the run.  I was totally beat.  It looked like I was going to be creative with this pumpkin pie.  The crust had to be made out of all whole wheat flour and oil since I didn’t have any butter on hand.  It wasn’t as flaky as I’d like.  The filling was actually made using tofu which made it super creamy and delicious.  I added a pecan streusel topping and cute little leaves made from dough scraps along the crust edge.

The pie only had about 3 hours to set in the fridge.  It could have used a couple more hours.  Before we dug into the pie I made a Herb Roasted Turkey.  I think this is one of my favorite ways to have turkey.


The turkey stays so moist and the flavors seep into the meat.  Alongside we had left over roasted brussels sprouts and mixed potatoes.

I think this was a perfect kick off to Thanksgiving week!

Tomorrow I start Week 2 of the 100 push up challenge.  Very exciting

I almost forgot.  As promised I’ve added the Texan Turkey and Peppers with Cornmeal Pancakes.  You should really try this recipe out!

Leave a Reply

