Yuumm Almond-Cashew Butter

9 Dec

Tuesday was so much fun!  I followed the homemade nut butter making directions from HEAB‘s website.  I made a small batch of roasted almond-cashew butter and roasted almond-cashew butter with cinnamon.

It turns out HEAB was right, you’ve got to have patience when making your own nut butters.

I got a 15 minute ab workout in while our Tuesday night enchiladas baked in the oven.  I didn’t have anything planned so I decided to use up left overs.  Our yummy flat out wrap enchiladas were filled with cream cheese, chicken, green tomatoes, red onion, black beans, wild rice and topped with green salsa verde and colby jack cheese.  We had some roasted corn, red peppers and onion along the side.

******

The next morning the cinnamon almond-cashew butter variety was sooo good in my flax oatmeal.   Pretty polish pottery 🙂

My achilles had been feeling better the past couple days.  I was starting to get the inkling to run but wasn’t about to go out for a cold 20 degree run.  SO, I went to my parents and ran 2 miles on their treadmill in the sauna (downstairs with the fire place going).  Those couple miles felt really good and I would have kept going except I was way too hot.

Before my run I did my push ups for week 4.  They aren’t getting any easier.  BUT, I know I’m getting stronger each day.  So are you!

I’ve got an early morning meeting so I’m out for the night.  I’ll leave you with ….

Giveaways!

Have you heard of Juice Beauty?  The Fitnessista is giving away one of her favorite cleansers by Juice Beauty.  Enter before Friday AM.

Tina of Carrots ‘n’ Cake has a giveaway from Elements Bars.  Click here to enter to win a gift certificate for a box of 12 custom Element Bars before Thursday afternoon.

No Meat Athlete, Matt, has 2 pairs of recovery socks courtesy of SIGVARIS to give away.  Enter right away.  He’ll announce the winner next Monday.

The twins from Pure2Raw are giving away a variety pack from their bakery.  Everything is gluten free, vegan, soy free, corn free, peanut free, and a few items will be raw.  This one’s open till December 15th, so click here to enter.

Last but not least (drum roll please)…Heather from HeatherEatsAlmondButter is having a VITA-MIX giveaway!  You have until Sunday to enter this big one.

5 Responses to “Yuumm Almond-Cashew Butter”

  1. Heather Eats Almond Butter December 10, 2009 at 5:15 am #

    Thanks are all the links, and for the Vita-Mix shout out. 🙂

    Oh my gosh, almond cashew butter with cinnamon? Yum, and yours loook so creamy and perfect. I bet it was so yummy in your flax oatmeal.

    Do you think your parents would mind if I came over for a little yoga? I love doing power yoga in a heated studio. 😉

    • Heather December 10, 2009 at 6:37 am #

      Prob not 🙂 Ya know during my run I thought hot yoga would be great down there. I’ve never tried hot yoga before but it sounds like something I’d be into.

  2. Lynn at The Actors Diet December 10, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    that pottery is beautiful! i love big bowls and i cannot lie.

  3. Erica December 10, 2009 at 6:37 pm #

    I love homemade nut butter because you truly know there are no gross additives! Your butters look like they turned out fantastic! Glad your achilles is feeling better! Thats exciting

  4. Alisa February 4, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    I love my vita-mix and my Polish pottery! Two things I wouldn’t want to live without!

Leave a Reply

