Recipes and Exercise

15 Dec

Wow time is just flying by.  I feel like I still have so much Christmas stuff to work on but today is my last day off :(.  I’ve worked on making lots of goodies to share with family.  I don’t want to spoil to surprise so I won’t be revealing what I made until later, but it’s all very yummy (and healthy too!).

I did get my pictures to load up much better today so here’s the recipe for my Potato-y, Mushroom-y Asparagus Frittata.  It’s super easy and everyone loved it last weekend.  Hope you can enjoy it too.

Something else that I’d like to share is my pulled pork tacos.I’ve never used these cute little soft taco shells, but I totally would again.  They were made with white corn and wheat flour.  Once I heated them up on a warm skillet they had a nice taste and texture.  I filled my taco with home made smashed pinto beans, pulled pork, avocado, spinach and tomato.  Dinner was super filling and Jacob loved them too- he even went back for seconds!

The pulled pork is crazy easy to make.  Check out my Crock Pot Pulled Pork recipe.  We have a lot of left over pork so tonight I’ll be making a pizza with some of it.  I got the recipe for almond flour pizza dough from HEAB that I really want to try.  So I will!

OKAY enough about food for the moment.  On Sunday I got ready and set out for a run.  I went about 1 block and had to turn back… it was so icy out!  I was bound to fall on my face.  Instead I did my push up exhaustion test and managed 60 push ups!  That’s twice as much as the first exhaustion test and it was very exhausting.

Monday morning I got up and ran a fun 2.5 miles (25 minutes).  It felt so good to get out and run.  I could have gone twice as long, but I knew I had a long run planned for today with my ma.  We’re going to run along the route for our 1/2 marathon and see how flat it really is.

Yesterday I also did my push ups for Day 1 of Week 5 and boy did they almost kill me!  I think I was still recovering from the 60 the day before.  Squats from the Move of the Day were done (16 reps x 3).

Did you do the Move of the Day yesterday??

Today’s M.O.T.D. will focus on your abs and obliques.  Check out the Crunch Three Ways.

5 Responses to “Recipes and Exercise”

  1. Amy December 15, 2009 at 8:27 am #

    mmm…. I’m going to have to try the pulled pork recipe! I’m mildy obsessed with that stuff! 🙂

    • Heather December 15, 2009 at 8:33 am #

      What a good obsession to have! Let me know how it turns out for you.

  2. Erica December 15, 2009 at 10:23 am #

    My husband LOVES when I make him pulled pork in the crock pot- its so easy and does produce a ton of meat. I use it for in a bundle of other recipes- quesadillas, sammies, on top of salads, etc. Fabulous.

    Great job on the pushups and the running! Thats very exciting that you can do so many pushups-wahooo!

    Have a great one 🙂

  3. Janna (Just Flourishing) December 15, 2009 at 10:40 am #

    Love your “Move of the Day” idea. I’m going to have to start doing that!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pork’s All Gone « Get Healthy With Heather - December 18, 2009

    […] pulled pork.  I love that we got 4 very different meals out of 1 crock pot of pork.  Check out my tacos, pizza, grilled cheese and last night’s […]

Leave a Reply

