8 Minute Miles… I Wish

20 Dec

Is it really Sunday already?  Time is just flying by way too fast.  Yesterday was hurry hurry hurry.  My mom and I had a 6 mile run with CCRC.  Well, we thought it was 6 miles and ran it in 48 minutes –  that’s 8 minute miles!  It turned out to only be 5.6 miles.  Still it’s just over 8:30 minute miles.  We were quite proud of ourselves 🙂

Sadly my achilles is starting to hurt again.  I could feel it tightening up in the 2nd half of the run.  I never got around to making an appointment to see a chiro so first thing Monday morning it’s happening.  No excuses!

We’ve done A LOT of push ups the past couple days.  Friday I finished up Week 5 and then yesterday I did my exhaustion test.  I managed 62 and it was pretty difficult.  I blame it on no rest between push up days.  We just have 1 more week left and then the final test to see if we can do 100 consecutive push ups.  I think this training will really work and we’ll all be able to do them.  It’s going to  be exciting.

Yesterday after the run I finished up some baking for the in-law Christmas.  Here’s a glimpse of some goodies I gave to family last night:

I had a yummy breakfast this morning.  Very simple seed toast with PB and banana.

Today I have a bunch more baking to do and I HAVE to finish Christmas shopping.  It’s only 5 DAYS AWAY!  Posts my be a bit sporatic, but I’ll have the move of the day ready for tomorrow.

Hope you’ve had a great weekend so far!

3 Responses to “8 Minute Miles… I Wish”

  1. Katie O. @ Fit to Wed December 23, 2009 at 11:15 am #

    8:30 miles are super speedy!

    Are you doing the 100 pushups challenge? I did it a few months ago but can still only do 21 in a row. I repeated week 4 around 8 times, seriously. I can’t seem to get over that wall!

    • Heather December 23, 2009 at 8:00 pm #

      Yes I am. Have you tried doing a modified push up? Maybe that would help you get past that wall.

      • Katie O. @ Fit to Wed December 23, 2009 at 8:40 pm #

        I actually haven’t even considered doing them modified… that’s a good idea! It makes sense that in being able to do more of the modified version will build the strength necessary to do full ones!

Leave a Reply

