I ate, I ran and I rested

10 Jan

I started Saturday morning out wonderfully with this…

And turned it into this…


It was perfection and got me ready to run run run.

The running was rough.  Mom and I ran 10 miles in 1 hour 36 minutes and 20 seconds.  I can always be proud when we run under 10 minute miles!

The 10-miler gave me a look into how difficult the 1/2 marathon will be in 2 weeks.  10 miles was no piece of cake, but it did have a couple killer hills.  The 1/2 marathon will be a flat course, so hopefully much easier.

After the run I just wanted to crawl up into a big ball.  I did but only for a little bit.  My legs were so sore (and still are).  I’ll probably go for a long walk with Joe today to get the blood moving in them.

*****

Friday night we had Jacob’s grandma over for dinner.  I baked up some individual turkey meatloaf

Super easy and super tasty.

Along the side we had some salad filled with squash, brussels sprouts, portobello mushroom, dried blue berries and topped with balsamic vinaigrette.

I was really happy with this meal. Everything turned out great and grandma enjoyed it too 🙂

*****

Today I’m going to spend the morning cleaning and organizing the fridge and cupboards.  I could end up being mighty impressed with myself if I get it all done.  Maybe there will even be some before and after pics if it is an impressive job.  We’ll just have to wait and see.

6 Responses to “I ate, I ran and I rested”

  1. Erica January 10, 2010 at 3:01 pm #

    Hey girly 😉 Great kick butt job on the run- you rock! After long runs, I always feel like sleeping the day away 🙂 Yummy dinner. Love the looks of that salad (brussels!!). Hope the cleaning went well

  2. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 11, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    turkey meatloafs look So good! what a great idea, those are probably really easy to freeze and just pop out when you want them!

    a walk is a great idea after the long run, getting the blood moving is a good thing!!

  3. eatmovelove January 11, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Impressive run girl!! I’m bowing down to you right now – I’m uber jealous of the double digits…:(…but I’m happy for you and your ma of course! Great blog!

    • Heather January 12, 2010 at 6:46 am #

      Hey it looks like you’ve come pretty close to a 10 miler… you can do it!

  4. Amy January 11, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    I think I need some of that salad in my life… I’m a sucker for balsamic vinaigrette!

    • Heather January 12, 2010 at 6:47 am #

      Grandma was real impressed with the dressing — you should try it out!

Leave a Reply

