Experiments and Exercise

17 Jan

We had yet again another wonderful weekend at the lake house.  Three out of four items on my agenda happened, just not the hiking 😦

Mom and I ran 9.25 miles(85 minutes) and they felt GREAT!  We were only planning to run 8 but it was just going so well we ended up adding an extra 1.25 miles.  We had a nice pace too- 9:11 minute miles, yowza!  This last long run before the 1/2 marathon (in 7 days!) really made me feel more confident that I’ll be able to do these 13.1 miles, and do them without dying at the end.  Should be fun 🙂

We experimented with a few different prune dishes

Prunes stuffed with goat cheese and topped with pecans

Prune and turkey patties
Prune panna cotta
A couple different granolas were made.

One of the granola is on top of my PB oats for breakfast… mmmmm

The other granola, the yumyumyum granola, is pictured near the bottom.  Look forward to a granola bar recipe made of it in a few weeks.

Kitchen experiments aside, we had some yummy dinners and lunches too

Lemony salmon

My favorites veggie!

Mixed roasted potatoes.  The purple potatoes were so cool!

Leftover salmon salad topped with my balsamic vinaigrette.

It was so much fun being up there and it’s always nice trying out new foods and ways to prepare them.

*****

This morning after returning home bright dark and early I got a nice lower body and ab workout in.

25 minutes of lower body: stationary lunges, squats, calf raises 3 ways, plie squats, step back lunges, wall squats and leg circle and lifts.  I went through all of these 2 times.  The first time through with 5 lb dumbbells in each hand for the first 5 exercises, then for the 2nd time through I used 8lb dumbbells.

15 minutes of abs: bent leg ab lift, crunch 3 ways, plank, weighted diagonal body cross, weighted standing side bend, and the hundred.  I decided that I wanted to try out each ab move of the days I’ve added so I did.  I went through the first 5 exercises 2 times, then ended with the hundred 1 time.  It was a pretty nice and quick ab workout with variation, which I love!

Post workout fuel:

Plain greek yogurt with pumpkin purée and the yumyumyum granola on top.

Perfecto!

Hope your weekend was wonderful and you got some time in for exercises as well.  Does the body good 🙂

4 Responses to “Experiments and Exercise”

  1. Erica January 17, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

    Sounds like a fun weekend! Great job on the run. The roasted potatoes look amazing! I’ve never tried purple potatoes. I did get my exercise in this weekend-agree…totally does the body AND mind good

  2. Naomi (onefitfoodie) January 18, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    what a fun weekend and delicious treats!! I LOVE prunes 🙂 not so much prune juice, but the acutal fruit is SO good!!! I love your post workout fuel too! it sure does the body good, thats right!

  3. kate January 20, 2010 at 8:49 am #

    i just stumbled upon your blog… i love the pics of salmon & brussel sprouts! yum!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stability Ball Theme « Get Healthy With Heather - January 18, 2010

    […] morning I woke up and took Joe for a 25 minute walk.  My tush is real sore from my workout yesterday, and probably also from the 9.25 mile run on Saturday.  The walk was nice and […]

Leave a Reply

