Breakfast for all

19 Jan

Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal of the day.  I’m glad because it’s also the most important meal of the day too.  A balanced healthy breakfast will give you energy to start your day, improve your mood, enhance memory and focus and even help you maintain your weight by not starving yourself in the morning and then later on in the day eating those calories plus possibly even more calories than you would have eaten at breakfast anyway.

If you just don’t feel hungry for breakfast here’s something I’ve learned that works well for me.  Try not to eat a few hours before going to sleep.  By doing this you’ll wake up and want to eat breakfast (because your tummy will be yelling at you!), where as if you chow down before hitting the hay you may wake up still full from the night before and not feel the need to eat breakfast.

I enjoy breakfast every morning and know that I’m doing my body a favor by feeding it healthy, clean, flavorful foods.

Here are two recent pumpkin-y breakfasts I enjoyed that were fairly quick, delicious and had great staying power.

Pumpkin Oatmeal

On the stove top in a small pan over medium heat add 1/2 cup of rolled oats, 1 cup of water and a pinch of sea salt.  Bring to a soft boil, stir ever so often, and cook until a thick consistency (about 7-8 minutes).  Add 1 TBSP wheat germ and 1/3 cup pumpkin puree.  Stir to combine and heat through.  Pour into a bowl and top with a spoon full of almond butter and 2 TBSP homemade granola (homemade so I know what went into the granola).  Enjoy!

Pumpkin French Toast

In a shallow bowl (large enough to dip bread in) add 2 egg whites, 1 tsp vanilla extract, 1/2 TBSP cinnamon, 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice and a splash of your favorite milk or non dairy substitute.  Beat with a fork until thoroughly combined.

Heat your skillet on medium heat.  Coat the skillet with olive oil spray.  Dip both sides of a whole grain bread slice(I enjoy Dave’s Killer Good Seed Bread) in your egg mixture and place it on the hot skillet.  Right away sprinkle the side facing up with 1 TBSP of the pumpkin seeds.  Repeat with a second slice of bread.  After about 4 minutes, carefully flip your pieces of bread over.  Cook the second side with the pumpkin seeds for about 1 ½ to 2 minutes.  The seeds toast very quickly so don’t cook it for too long.

Place both pieces on a plate, top with your favorite nut butter (brazil nut up there) or a bit of pure maple syrup.

What’s your favorite breakfast?

*****

Continuing on with the stability ball theme for the move of the day I’ve got the plank to pike for you to try out.  This move is wonderful and focuses on your abs, back and shoulders too.

Awesome giveaways going on right now

Click here to enter the Vitamix giveaway and here to enter to win the book: Core Performance for Women.


6 Responses to “Breakfast for all”

  1. Nicole January 20, 2010 at 3:29 am #

    I love pumpkin oats! I make mine with some organic pumpkin butter that I’m obsessed with, a bit of brown sugar, and pecans. YUM! Too bad my pumpkin butter is out of season 😦 Your breakfasts look delicious! I’m on a homemade granola kick, and Greek yogurt. And always fresh fruit : )

  2. Kloé January 20, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    I’m definitely a breakfast person 😉 I mostly have the same thing every breakfast, just because I love it so much, and I found it’s the best fuel for my runs: Oatmeal!!! Then I add dried or fresh fruit, sunflower seeds and almonds. It’s so good, and the fruit naturally sweetens the oatmeal, so no need for anything else!

    – Kloé

  3. Erica January 20, 2010 at 6:26 am #

    mmmmmmm the pumpkin french toast looks awesome! What a great idea. I make sure I eat breakfast every day! I love your tip about not eating close to bedtime, but with my later night teaching schedule…dinner always ends up being pretty close to sleepy time! grrr. Hope you’re having a good one

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 20, 2010 at 6:36 am #

    wow that pumpkin french toast looks delicious and pretty!! I love breakfast, it is hands down my favorite meal of the day! I always have oatmeal in the morning and i have NEVER gotten sick of it! of course it changes occasiinaly, but oatmeal will always have my heart!

  5. frogsandmen January 20, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    salut! that is some incredible french toast! no wonder breakfast is your favorite meal of the day.

  6. marlameridith January 22, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    I am thrilled with everything that is breakfast! It is my most carb based meal of the day and my highest calorie. Each morning I thankfully wake up starving, I usually make my Stuffed French Toast recipe (on FFC) that I have assembled ahead of time. I wake up at 4am…..so everything needs to be at the ready! I make a few french toast sandwiches, keep ’em in the fridge. I have one each day…..each one gets dipped in egg whites and heated in a pan until nice and crispy. (gosh i am getting hungry just thinking about breakfast!)
    I must and will try your version with the pumpkin seeds…..the FT and the Oats look great 🙂

Leave a Reply

