Double Feature, Oats and Running

22 Jan

This week has FLOWN by.  Jacob and I are never as busy as we were each night and I could really tell I was just wore out when last night showed up.  Spent a nice evening couch potato style.

Because of that Thursday’s move of the day wasn’t posted so today you get a double feature!

Yesterday’s yoga focused move on the stability ball was the side arm balance, and today’s cardio/combo move is the stability ball frog squat n jump.  The great thing about the stability ball is that you can get a full body workout in if desired.  Try all 5 moves from this week for a quick full body exercise routine, or wait until the next 5 stability ball exercises are shown and create a 10-exercise workout.

SO what have I been eating this week??  Well I’ve been lacking in the picture taking department but here’s just some of what I’ve enjoyed.

Just a big ol’ jar of almond butter…

Or maybe a big ol’ jar of almond butter filled with pumpkin oatmeal and granola.

I underestimated the amount of almond butter left in the jar.  It was probably almost twice as much as I’d normally add to my oats so my stomach felt kind of sick for a little while.  The good part – it held me over until lunch time!  Ahh the work of fat keeping me full.

Yummy oats in my polka dot mug.  This morning I added in 2 egg whites for more protein and I was a bit nervous about how it would taste.  However while smelling it cook it reminded me of strawberry balsamic pancakes I haven’t made in a while so I knew I’d end up liking the egg white addition.  Twas good with banana, brazil nut butter and granola.

I love pasta especially when I’m tired and just want to veg.  Since veg-mode was in full effect last night I whipped together this dish: brown rice pasta, herb roasted chicken, kale, tons of onions, garlic, fresh mozzarella and a quick light sauce.  I know it’s a hit when Jacob wants seconds.  Along side we had some sautéed green beans from the freezer… I need to get to the store and stock up on veggies ASAP.

Exercise has been a bit lax this week because of the busyness.  I’ve only ran twice so far since Saturday, both under 3 miles.  I’ll make up for it on Sunday though!  Jacob ran with Joe and I this morning.  It’s nice to have a running partner (other than the dog) when it’s still dark outside.  Plus it’s more fun to have my hubs to talk.  I have gotten more walks in which is nice.  I just can’t resist not going on a walk during my lunch break when the sun is shining.  It brightens up my afternoons.

I’m excited to have the day off from work to get some stuff done around the house that I’ve been putting off.  Joe’s got a vet appointment and I’ve got a date with my kitchen to do some baking (I also have a date with the washer and dryer but I’m trying to stand them up) 😛

The poor unsuspecting pup does know what’s coming in 3 hours.  Haha guess he’s tired from this run this morning.

3 Responses to “Double Feature, Oats and Running”

  1. marlameridith January 22, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Oh, puppy Joe is so very cute!! He needs the rest trying to keep up with his mama! You have great amounts of energy…I love that!
    10 stability ball exercises, NICE!! I will be skiing this week so I will use these to get stable!

  2. Nicole January 22, 2010 at 6:15 pm #

    Joe is so cute! Did you stand-up the washer? 😉

    • Heather January 23, 2010 at 4:37 am #

      Nicole, the washer didn’t get stood up, but I the folding did 🙂

Leave a Reply

