My First Half Marathon

25 Jan

Yesterday’s 1/2 marathon started out in the rain.  It was around 42 degrees which is perfect to run in, except for the cold rain.

All 407 runners/walkers lined up at 10am to start… and we were off!

We started out strong with a 9 minute mile.  After the first mile we slowed down a bit so that we wouldn’t wear ourselves out.

My dad was there to cheer us on, along with my Aunts Arlene and Arneta.  They came down from Seattle which was so sweet of them to do 🙂

Around mile 3 we were too warm and had to shed our jackets and gloves.   Still feeling pretty good at that point.

Me waving good bye when I should really be paying attention.  The lady in pink pants was telling people to watch out for a post in the middle of the trail.  Luckily mom kept me from running into it.

See that older guy in the short shorts behind us?  Well probably about .25 miles before this picture all of a sudden we felt like someone was running right behind us… really really close.  I turned around and saw this man pretty much on our heels.  Immediately I thought he wanted us to move out of his way, but no that wasn’t the case.  He was using us to break the wind!

When we returned to dad and aunts around mile 6/7, I was starting to feel hungry so I grabbed my banana share with mom.  The man ran past us and probably found a couple other ladies to use.

See the short shorts man is gone.

This was around mile 11.5… we’re so close to the end!  Still smiling 🙂

Until we got to mile 12.  Instantly both my mom’s feet and mine started to hurt.  I was expecting to get some sort of energy boost knowing that I just had 1 more mile to go but it was the the opposite.  I felt sore and tired and was ready for it to be over.

We’re coming around the last bend to the end.

I really wanted to beat the lady in blue next to me so I sprinted to the end and crossed 1 second before her finishing at 2:03:42. Mom finished at 2:03:48 right behind me.

We ended with a better time than I thought we would… just under 9:30 minute miles!  We didn’t have to walk at all, just stopped and stretched a few times.  Sadly with just 2 miles left to go my mom told me she wouldn’t run a full marathon with me… we’ll see.  She said those same words about the 1/2 marathon just 4 months ago.

We went out for lunch after changing into dry clothes, and our Vancouver Lake Half Marathon T-Shirts!

My legs were DEAD and I was walking around limpy the rest of the afternoon.

Today I feel like I’ve got my energy back, just sore legs.  Mainly my left calf which was sore from the hike the day before.  I’m looking forward to my massage this afternoon.

I can’t wait to plan my next 1/2 marathon and look into a full!

11 Responses to “My First Half Marathon”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes January 25, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!! You did great! How great that you are already thinking about your next 1/2 marathon as well as considering a full marathon!

    Have a great week!

  2. David Dierking January 25, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Congratulations! Looks like you both did great out there. I only wish the weather was a little better so you’d be able to enjoy it a little more.

    Take a few days off and enjoy yourself! You’ve earned it!

  3. your aunt carol January 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    Congratulations to you both! Fantastic effort!!

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) January 25, 2010 at 4:09 pm #

    congrats on the half marathon! what an amazing event and an experience you will always remember esp doing it with your mom!!! I want to do one one day!

  5. Matt January 25, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Congratulations! That’s so awesome that you can do that sort of thing with your mom. I wish my parents were into running!

    My advice: schedule the next (or the full) immediately. It’s so easy to fall into a big rut after you achieve something to big.

    Congrats again 🙂

  6. Debbie January 25, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    Way to go Heather, I think it’s great you and your mom where able to do this together. I will give my congratulations to her tomorrow, I just wonder how well she will bowl.

  7. marla (Family Fresh Cooking) January 26, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    Go Heather!!! I am so psyched for you! What a great accomplishment. A half marathon is a great big check mark in the fitness world. You set a goal and went for it. You and your mom are so cute together. A job well done for both. Did I ever tell you I used to be a marathon runner. Ran Boston back in ’05…..what a wonderful experience!! I always used to draft behind people. I am tiny, so it wouldn’t be much use to draft behind me!

  8. Erica January 26, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    SO sorry it took me forever to get a comment up on this fabulous post! I was totally thinking about ya! Congrats!!!!! VERY awesome that you ran this with your mama. That just rocks. Great time too- kick butt

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. How Sweet It Is « Get Healthy With Heather - January 25, 2010

    […] feel like I’ve been pampered since the half marathon […]

  2. Outta the rut « Get Healthy With Heather - April 5, 2010

    […] start planning my training soon and hope to beat my time of 2:03:42 from my first half marathon in […]

  3. My second half marathon « Get Healthy With Heather - August 3, 2010

    […] race was much a lot different than my first half marathon in January.  The weather was obviously different in July.  It was a very warm run starting at […]

Leave a Reply

