Quick dinners and a sandwich idea

10 Feb

Wow, I can’t believe it’s Wednesday already!  This week is flying by way too fast.

I didn’t follow my meal planning tips, so the past two night when I get home I’ve been quickly throwing meals together with whatever we have in the fridge/freezer.  Luckily I like to keep both well stocked with essentials.

Monday’s quick dinner was a yummy salad topped with a bit of chicken/turkey sausage, avocado and tomato with some olive oil and lime juice too.

Juicy pear on the side.

Tuesday’s dinner was carby and yummy.  I made some sweet potato mozzarella whole wheat ravioli a few months ago and kept a bunch in the freezer.  Perfect for nights when I want something quick and don’t have anything planned.  I sauteed some sweet onion with the last of the chicken/turkey sausage and slightly wilted some spinach in the pan before combining everything together.  We had pear on the side again.

This meal took maybe 15 minutes but tasted like it took much longer.

Refreshing idea

I’m not a huge fan of mayo, but I don’t like a dry tuna sandwich.  For yesterday’s lunch I combined a can of tuna with about 1/4 cup of peach habanero salsa.  Along with the avocado and spinach in my sandwich it was a great combo and the tuna was nice and moist.  Try it out!

6 Responses to “Quick dinners and a sandwich idea”

  1. luckytastebuds February 10, 2010 at 7:53 am #

    Hi Heather, you won my giveaway for the $50 Safeway giftcard girl!! I e-mailed you but you haven’t responded. Will you shooot me an e-mail at: luckytastebuds@gmail.com with your mailing address and a telephone number?

    Congrats!!! 🙂 Hope you’re having a great hump day sweetie!

  2. David Dierking February 10, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    The sandwich idea doesn’t sound too bad!

  3. Nicole February 10, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Looks great!!!

  4. Erica February 10, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    oww- sweet potato mozzarella whole wheat ravioli sound amazing! I love salsa with pretty much anything= my favorite condiment for sure! Hope you’re having a good Wednesday

  5. Naomi (onefitfoodie) February 10, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    i also love mixing tuna with a laughing cow wedge or greek yog! i HATE mayo but these two things make it just as creamy!! your salad looks YUMM

  6. marla (Family Fresh Cooking) February 10, 2010 at 6:28 pm #

    These are great quick meals. As long as we have all the elements available, we can make clean, healthy, yummy meals in a pinch. Those ravioli sound awesome. I love chicken/turkey sausage. They have so much flavor & loads of lean protein. They truly satisfy!

Leave a Reply

