Strawberry Pancake

12 Feb

This morning I made myself one huge pancake.  In the mix went 1/3 cup oats, 3 egg whites, 2 tbsp coconut flour, 2 tbsp soy milk, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp baking soda and a pinch of sea salt.  I topped off my cake with smashed warmed strawberries finished with a bit of balsamic vinegar.

Result?  So very yummy, saucy but a bit dense.  I’ve made this before and left out the coconut flour so I’ll probably do that again next time.  I only used 4 big frozen strawberries but it made way more topping that I thought it would.  No complaints though because the strawberry-balsamic vinegar combo were perfection.

*****

Yesterday when I got home from work I went straight downstairs and got into 50 minutes of P90X yoga.  It was just what my legs needed.  I felt so strong and flexible and even went deeper into the poses than I think I normally do.  My legs had been feeling restless all day and once I finished the yoga they felt great and back to normal.

Strange thing though… last night I woke up in the middle of the night with a charlie horse in my right calf and I used to never get these.  This was probably my 3rd one in the past month.  What causes charlie horses?  Any way to prevent them?

This weekend Jacob and I are snowshoeing with my aunts/uncles and I can’t wait!  This will be my first time and I really have no clue what to expect other than good times with the fam and hubs.

The 200 sit up challenge ends this weekend… Sunday will be the day to see if I can knock out 200!

5 Responses to “Strawberry Pancake”

  1. Nicole February 12, 2010 at 7:45 am #

    I used to get Charlie Horses all the time in high school. Now I RARELY get them (they hurt soooo bad!!!!!!!!!!!). I’m not sure, but maybe take a multivitamin in case it’s potassium or something that has to do with muscle constriction (if my physiology days aren’t failing me here!)!!

    Have a great time showshoeing — what an excellent workout! One of those delicious pancakes should keep you going for a good workout — looks amazing!

  2. Tina February 12, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

    I’ve gotten charlie horses when I wasn’t getting enough potassium. Might be something to look into 🙂 And water!!!

  3. Andrea@WellnessNotes February 14, 2010 at 7:36 am #

    I also used to get charlie horses and adding potassium to my diet helped.

    Have fun snowshoeing!

  4. Run Sarah February 14, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Have fun snowshoeing – it’s something I’ve always wanted to do! Love strawberries and pancakes – they go so well together.

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} February 15, 2010 at 6:33 am #

    I love snowshoeing!!! You will have so much fun out there.
    The strawberry pancake looks great! Never would have thought to add coconut powder. Sounds like a neat ingredient to have on hand. Maybe less of it in this sauce?? xo

Leave a Reply

