Day of eating

17 Feb

Since I was away from home over the weekend I hadn’t been eating like I usually do.  I’ve also been having a crazy sweet tooth going on since I got home from snowshoeing so I’ve attempted to put a kabosh on that ASAP.

Here’s my run through of yesterday’s eats.  Taking a picture of everything really kept me accountable while I get my sweet tooth back into control… for the most part 😉

I started out extra early with a cup of coffee + soymilk.  I’m trying out something new in the morning.  Normally I try to wake up at 5… turns into 5:15 and then I exercise.  I set the alarm for 4:40, got up and drank a small cup of coffee THEN exercised.  I felt so much more awake on my 2.4 mile (21:45 minutes) run and my time was faster than my normal AM run.  I think it was easier to get up knowing I was going to get coffee instead of starting my workout right away.

Breakfast… banana oats with PB yum

Later than morning I enjoyed some cottage cheese with blueberries.  A few pictures are a bit dark since they were taken with my phone.

Cutie 😉

Lunch was glorious.  Brussels sprouts, red pepper, sweet onion and mushroom topped with 3 egg whites + 1 egg and parm.  My favorite filling lunch for sure.

After lunch granola bar

Afternoon snack… toasted seed bread with brazil nut butter + another cutie.

Munched on a few handfuls of these while making dinner

And yummy tacos for dinner.  I crisped up my 2 little tortillas which made the tacos perfection.  Smashed onion and black bean on the bottom, avocado, shredded chicken and topped with lettuce.

Jacob convinced me to have 1 sweet… darn him for tempting me.  Chocolate covered macadamia nut brought back from Hawaii from my parents.

We took Joe on an hour long walk after dinner and picked up Starbucks.  No picture but a grande decaf soy latte was fully enjoyed by me 🙂

All in all I felt pretty darn good about my eats for the day.  Plus I really liked getting up early to have some time for me + coffee and it’s giving me time to write this right now!

We did it once again!

Over the weekend the 200 sit up challenge ended.  All of us were able to do them!  I’m so glad my Aunts Arlene, Arneta and Carol, mom Lynda and mom in law Debbie did this challenge with me.

Me, Arlene and Arneta after our sit ups still smiling 🙂

8 Responses to “Day of eating”

  1. Stef @ moretolifethanlettuce February 17, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    found your blog through nicole’s (prevention RD) and love it! all of your eats look great, do i spy millet in your granola bars? i esp am feelin the chocolate covered mac nut all the way from hawaii, those are the best!

    • Heather February 17, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      Actually it’s quinoa in the bars! They do look exactly the same though when uncooked.

  2. Nicole February 17, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Woo! Nice job on the sit-up challenge! That lunch looks wonderful and filling! I’d never think to do an egg scramble with parm…loooove it!

  3. Naomi (onefitfoodie) February 17, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    love your meals! I just saw those muffins on prevention RD’s blog made from your blog and they look SO GOOD i am checking out your recipe page, girl!

  4. Lisa February 17, 2010 at 8:07 pm #

    My husband always makes coffee before we work out in the morning. I cherish that half cup before we go to the gym and I do think it helps to get me moving.

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} February 17, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I can see why that would be your favorite lunch! You have loads of my favs in there. I eat so many eggs each day (mostly whites of course!) Glad to hear your sweet tooth is slowing down a bit. Hard to control huh!

  6. eatingRD February 17, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    great eats! I wish I could do coffee and caffeine, but it upsets my tummy. I love crispy tortillas, I’ve been on a kick with those lately. What a great challenge, I love ab workouts!! killer

  7. Erica February 18, 2010 at 6:09 am #

    GREAT day of eats! Your lunch looks incredible. I may have to make something similar later on today. Great job on the AM run too! I love getting my workouts done in the morning (when my teaching schedule permits!). I’ve been wanting to try those sun crystals- glad to hear you’re enjoying them. have a good one

Leave a Reply

