Running in the sun

19 Feb

I’m so glad Friday is here!  But, before I get into Friday lets back track.

The weather here has been amazing this week.  We’ve had the sun shining and temperatures in the 50-60s.  Normally I’m a morning exerciser but I just had to take advantage of the beautiful running weather instead of running in the cold darkness 5:15 am brings.

I hurried home from work and got on the road around 4:30pm and it was gorgeous.  I ran along the waterfront with Joe.  He enjoyed pulling me along to say hello to every dog we passed.  My legs felt great and I was very happy to see that my 6.2 miles only took 57 minutes.  I tend to run around 10 minute miles when I run by myself.  It’s probably the motivation of having someone with me that speeds up my pace.  This run was great because I ran 9:12 minute miles…. awesome!  It was a glorious afternoon.

I quickly put a pot of sweet onion brown rice on the stove when I returned so that I could refuel as soon as possible.

Dinner really hit the spot.  Yummy sweet brown rice – need my complex carbs!

Pork, apple and slivered almond salad tossed with an almond-tahini dressing – protein, yummy carbs, healthy fats and green!

This dinner left me feeling satisfied and refueled.

*****

Back to Friday — 50 minutes of P90X yoga was done this morning after my small cup of coffee and 1/2 a banana.  I could definitely feel my legs during this session.  They were a bit shaky at times but I know it was from the run last night.

Yoga left me real hungry.  I devoured my breakfast in just a few minutes…. really probably like 3 minutes.

This was mighty delicious.  Oats cooked with a dash of cinnamon, about 1 tbsp millet and 2 egg whites.  Topped with my favorite almond butter and beautiful fresh blueberries.  Yum.

This weekend I’ll probably get another run in with Jacob:) and hopefully look for a new laptop!

5 Responses to “Running in the sun”

  1. Lindsey February 19, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    Oh that sweet onion brown rice looks delish! Is the recipe on your recipe link? I’m going to check right now!

  2. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} February 19, 2010 at 9:21 pm #

    OK, so what is the deal with P90X? There is so much buzz about this workout. I don’t usually workout at home, but if this is awesome maybe I should look into it to mix things up. There is a yoga portion??
    Your runs sounds like it was great. So cute that you get to run with Joe!

    • Heather February 20, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

      P90X is a crazy intense home workout system. You should really check it! There are a bunch of u-tube videos I’ve seen of people working out with P90X and their results, but even if you don’t follow their system to a T (like me) they’re still amazing workouts. I pick and choose what I want to do and through running and other activities in. It’s great because I can still have the variety that I need and love.

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) February 20, 2010 at 10:02 am #

    i would devour that breakfast too!!! I am so happy its almost the spring so I can run OUTSIDE!!

    omg that sweet onion brown rice sounds awsome!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Waffles with no coffee « Get Healthy With Heather - February 20, 2010

    […] couple of you were interested in the sweet onion brown rice from the other day.  Well here it is.  It’s super easy and very tasty […]

Leave a Reply

