Making a dent

22 Feb

Yesterday was a jam packed day.  I had a ton that I wanted to do so I started with a list.  Lists always seem to help me get things done.  I ended up making a pretty good dent.

  • Laundry
  • Make dressing
  • Make crackers
  • Make granola
  • Clean up the yard/garden
  • Plant seeds
  • Costco
  • Pick up loaf pan
  • Make bread
  • Oil change

I made a poppyseed dressing from Choosing Raw and it was amazing.  If you like poppyseed dressings I suggest trying this one out. 

I topped my pear and walnut salad with it.  Wow Ireally  want to eat this everyday it was that good.

Had some green crackers along the side.  They turned out okay.  I think I needed to grind the rice a bit more, but I was glad to see that I could add swiss chard to them and they still look cracker form.  More experiementation will be needed 🙂 

I planned to go for a run while waiting for my oil to be changed.  Thought it would be a 45-60 minute wait… when I got there I was told I’d be waiting for an hour and 45 minutes!  First I was annoyed but then I thought why not turn my run I was planning to do into a long run.  The day was sunny and 52 degrees, prefect to run in, and I was feeling energetic so I quickly changed my attitude and went exploring an area I hadn’t really been to before. 

It was so much fun going along without a plan.  I ended up running 9.1 miles (87 minutes).  That’s my longest run since the 1/2 marathon a month ago!  Since I hadn’t really been working toward running that much I was majorly pooped toward the end and walk for 30 minutes to get back to my car after my 9.1 miles (plus it was all uphill!).  Stopped for a soy hot chocolate at a new coffee shop I’d been wanting to try before picking up my car.  It was a glorious afternoon.

The rest of the day was filled with the yard/garden prep, planting my peas outside and starting basil, tomatoes, bell peppers, brussels sprouts and cilantro inside.  I still have a couple more things to start inside but I ran out of time before we headed over to Jacob’s parents house for dinner.  I was pretty glad not to cook.  Long runs like that really wear me out.

Coffee no more

I’ve been doing great without coffee.  The first day I was a bit headachey but I’m feeling fantastic without it now.  I’ve been enjoying different chai teas in the mornings because I still want my caffein 😉  Jacob’s mom gave me a white chai tea to try.  Just drank a cup and really liked it.  I think my favorite so far is the double spiced chai tea.  I’m a bit fan of all the spice.

Question: Do you make lists when you have a lot to do or do you just dive into it?

I always make lists, at home and at work.  They really help me stay focused and on task, plus I always feel great marking things off when I finish them!

9 Responses to “Making a dent”

  1. Tina February 22, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    I make lists all the time. I am a list queen when I have a lot to do. Otherwise I won’t remember.

    And how cool to use your time for the oil change like that. Although…9.1 miles. That would NEVER happen from me. LOL I’d be lucky to get one. I’m definitely not a runner.

  2. Nutritious Foodie February 22, 2010 at 9:10 am #

    I definately make a list otherwise I would forget things all the things I need to get done

  3. Andrea@WellnessNotes February 22, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    Great way to spend the time while your car got an oil change! I love unexpected, long workouts. But I am far from running 9.1 miles at this point… 😉

    I make lists; they actually calm me down and I don’t feel like I have a million things to do… It’s nice to realize that’s it’s only about 20 things or so that have to get done! 😉

    Have a great week!

  4. eatmovelove February 22, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    Great blog! I don’t make lists…but I should….

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} February 22, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    You are motivating me to get on the tea bandwagon. I no longer get a great buzz from my coffee. Perhaps tomorrow morning i’ll try tea….we’ll see. I try to make lists, when i remember! xo

  6. Erica February 23, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    WOW! Great job on the long run! Way to make good use of your oil change time. I am a big list maker. I don’t think I’d get much of anything done without it 😉 I saw that dressing on choosing raw- sounds fantastic. I especially love the pear and walnut combo- so yummy. Hope you have a nice one

  7. Christine (The Raw Project) February 23, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Ooh, I plan to try that dressing soon, it looks awesome … just need to get some poppyseeds 🙂 Awesome job on the run and dumping coffee, I’m getting there. Great blog.

  8. Naomi(onefitfoodie) February 23, 2010 at 2:50 pm #

    i LOVE fruit on salads, that looks awsome! homeade dressing is the best too! who knows whatsin the bottled stuff, right?!

  9. Gena February 24, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    I’m so excited that you like the dressing!!

Leave a Reply

