Rushing

25 Feb

Wow it’s felt like a crazy week.  Rush rush rush, thats how it’s been for me.  Each night when I get home from work I’ve felt like I rushed to the kitchen to get dinner going, then we eat, hang out for a bit and I’m off to bed.  With my early wake up call I get real tired so early in the evening.  Sometimes it makes the day feel so much shorter 😦

The dinner’s I’ve rushed to make have been very tasty though.  Wanna see? yes yes yes

Mango chicken with sauted veggies over soba noodles.  This was my first time cooking up soba noodles (which for anyone wondering are made with buckwheat flour) and we really liked them!  Plus they were done in 3 minutes.  Total time saver.

Italian barley bake (Italian turkey sausage, barley, tomato sauce, mushroom, onion, spinach and mozzarella) and a side salad.

Polenta pizza

Mini                                                                                             
 

Big

My friend at work actually challenged me that I couldn’t make a polenta pizza… oh yes I can!  The mini’s have all different topping combos using italian sausage, asparagus, onion, red bell pepper, swiss chard, butternut squash and mozzarella.  They were yummy and fun, but the crust was a bit more labor intensive.

One thing that helps keep me sane when life gets busy and stressed is exercise.  It’s my time away from everything and ends up giving me energy to handle life.

So far this weeks my exercise has gone like this:

Sunday – 9.1 mile run
Monday – 25 minute walk and 15 minutes of abs
Tuesday – 50 minutes of shoulders, triceps and biceps
Wednesday – 2 mile run
Thursday – 35 minutes of legs and back and 15 minutes of abs

I’ll probably get some more walking in and some yoga this weekend. 

What does your exercise look like this week?

6 Responses to “Rushing”

  1. Erica February 25, 2010 at 2:08 pm #

    I hate when the day feels so busy that its just go go go! I can so relate. The polenta pizza looks awesome. I have had a recipe book marked to make these for so long- must get on it! Great job on the exercise! For me, its a crazy exercise week, Monday- taught Pump, then we had a launch party (body pump, attack, flow, tae boe), Tuesday- taught attack, wednesday-taught pump & ran a little, Tonight- teach 45 minute step, 45 minute pump, tomorrow- teach pump, saturday teach step! Yikes! I can’t wait to go on vacation…my body will be thanking me 🙂

  2. Andrea@WellnessNotes February 25, 2010 at 2:52 pm #

    The polenta pizzas look & sound great!

    My exercise so far this week:

    Sunday – 45 minutes on the elliptical
    Monday – Upper body strength training & 20 minutes on the stair climber
    Tuesday – 30 minute run
    Wednesday – rest day
    Thursday – Upper and lower body strength training & 30 minutes on the elliptical

    Tomorrow will be another run, and on Saturday I’m supposed to take a bootcamp class. Wish me luck! 🙂

  3. Allison (Eat Clean Live Green) February 25, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    Polenta pizza is such a great idea!

    My exercise this week is a mix of Body Pump classes and running

  4. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} February 25, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    All your meals look so awesome and very creative. The polenta pizza is making me so hungry….all of it is actually. I too love soba, haven’t had it in a while and need to. Thank goodness for workouts, you are so right!

  5. Naomi(onefitfoodie) February 26, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    polenta pizza looks so good! i saw tina make those on carrots n cake, and I was intrigued! so glad you made them and aliked them!!

    awesome workout!

  6. Nicole February 26, 2010 at 4:33 pm #

    You and I had similar weeks. When I came home last night I was just beat — it’s a good thing I didn’t have to work today because I just wouldn’t have it in me.

    Your dinners look fantastic despite being short on time!

    Have a great weekend, Heather!!

Leave a Reply

