I just wanted to stop

28 Feb

First off, if you haven’t entererd my giveaway click here to enter right away.

Onward to yesterday.  Saturday was officially my rest day.  No exercise was done and it was lovely.  Recovery is so important and I definately felt like I needed it.  I even slept in til 8am!

Today I wanted to do something I’ve never done before.  Run then bike.  I run all the time, and bike a few times a year but my aunts want to put on a triathon for the fam so I’ve got to start training!  Plus I love challenges and wanted to see how I’d do.

Luckily it’s not rainy today.  That’s one thing I wasn’t looking forward to, biking in the rain.  I prepped my bike and got ready for my run.  4.25 miles and 37 minutes later I was back home from my run.  I grabbed a handful of raisins, sipped on my water, threw my helmet on and headed out on my bike. 

I planned to go the same 4.25 mile route I ran.  Running it is easy and I figured biking would be even easier.  Ya it was so not easier.  I just wanted to stop after 5 minutes.  You see, the route has a lot of slight inclines along the way.  I don’t notice it anymore because I run this route often plus I’m used running.  The biking nearly killed my inner thighs and tush!

I’d almost convinced myself that I was going to turn at the 2 mile point be back home around 2.5 miles but it just so happened to be at a down hill so I just glided on by the turn.  After I realized I missed my escape route I put it in my head that I’d make it back home even if I went at a snails pace.  I’m all about finishing.  I don’t like to give up and I’m really glad I didn’t give in to my urge to cut my ride short. 

The same 4.25 miles took 28 minutes on the bike.  I don’t know if that’s slow or fast or what but it was perfect for me.  I’m really glad I challenged myself and did the run-bike.  I look forward to doing it again sometime soon.

I devoured a bowl of kashi cereal puffs, dried blueberries, pumpkin seeds, wheat germ and soymilk when I got back.  Re-energized and ready to go now!

Question:  Have you challenged yourself physically lately?  How did it turn out?

5 Responses to “I just wanted to stop”

  1. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) March 1, 2010 at 7:51 am #

    I agree – rest days are SO important! I’m taking one today 🙂

    I ran a “fast finish 15-mile long run on Saturday” – it was very challenging, but I felt accomplished when I was done!

  2. David Dierking March 1, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I’ve done the bike and then run a few times as part of my triathlon training. Doing them back to back is MUCH different than doing each independently. After a few times doing it, it gets a little easier…..slowly. You’re off to a great start!

  3. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} March 1, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    I have found that too! Cycling can be so dang tiring, even when you are conditioned with hard core running. You did great….who cares how long it took. I know nothing about bike times either, so you did great by me 🙂 We are supposed to shock the body, right??

  4. Sherrill Libby March 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    I had a letter all written and away it went to puter heaven

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Coffee, lentils and sunshine « Get Healthy With Heather - March 1, 2010

    […] just feel like a bottomless pit!  I think from the tough run-bike ride on Sunday, then 45 minutes of P90X Core Synergistic this morning my body wanted more fuel than […]

Leave a Reply

