Coffee, lentils and sunshine

1 Mar

Remember how I wasn’t going to drink coffee for a week?   The week went by just fine.  Tea was enjoyed everyday with no tummy troubles.  Over the weekend though I just couldn’t pass up an invite from the hubs to go to Starbucks. 

I drank my venti soy misto and enjoyed every slip of it.  Strangely I didn’t feel as buzzed from it as I thought I would, but a couple hours later I definitely felt the crash.  Low energy is no fun.   So other than my Starbucks treat no coffee has passed my lips and I’m liking it.

Gosh I just feel like a bottomless pit!  I think from the tough run-bike ride on Sunday, then 45 minutes of P90X Core Synergistic this morning my body wanted more fuel than normal.   I made a power breakfast after my workout this morning.  Oats cooked in soymilk with banana, raisins, hemp protein powder, wheat germ, cinnamon and topped with peanut butter.  It was might delicious while eating, but I was left with a chalky taste in my mouth once it was all gone.  Must have been the hemp protein powder.

After Matt (No Meat Athlete) talked up his meat stomping Wine Braised Lentils over toast with spinach and red pearl onions I just had to try out the dish.  I even made my own bread to go along with it.

Cracked wheat loaves.  The recipe called for sturdy bread… oh yea it turned out sturdy all right!

I thought it was just okay.  I could tell Jacob thought it was less than okay, probably because he’s not a lentil fan.  I don’t think I’d make it again, or maybe I would with some white beans.  I think it was the lentils in the dish that didn’t excite us. 

Lastly, Sweet Nicole of PreventionRD passed the sunshine award on to me.  Thanks girlie!  I’m honored that I can inspire you!

The sunshine award is awarded to bloggers whose positivity and creativity inspire others in the blog world.

Matt, even though we didn’t love the dish you inspired me to try something new so this award goes on to you!

Click here to enter my Dave’s Killer Bread giveaway before Thursday!!

4 Responses to “Coffee, lentils and sunshine”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes March 2, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    I love lentils, and the lentil dish sounds really good to me. I don’t think it would excite anyone else in my house though… 🙂

  2. Nicole March 2, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Aww, you are very welcome!

    No coffee for a week?! I couldn’t do it! I’m weak sauce when it comes to my coffee…it’s one of the few vices I have and it’s the only caffeine I intake…and I think it’s a need, not just a want 🙂 Coffee is totally the highlight of my morning, though! Every morning!

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 3, 2010 at 6:48 am #

    that sounds fabulous!!! you made your own bread? thats so cool!! I think I would be so scared it would turn out terrible haha yours looks delicious and full of WHOLE GRAINS!

    • Heather March 3, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

      What I do is TRY to make my own bread 🙂 They don’t always turn out so good… sometimes pretty hard but it’s so much fun for me to make bread. Let me know if you give it a try sometime!

Leave a Reply

