Hamburger saves dinner

11 Mar

I’m so glad to have a few more days of vacation before I have to head back to work on Monday.  Not being in a routine has made me feel a bit lazy though… I had a bunch I wanted to do today but didn’t really get around to it. 

I was super glad to throw together a quick, easy and healthy dinner in no time using a little something I picked up at one of the wineries we visited in Chelan. 

I cooked some brown rice pasta and threw in a few handfuls of spinach in the boiling water for the last minute right before straining it.  Next I heated up half the jar of artichoke walnut pasta sauce with a left over crumbled hamburger Jacob made a few days ago (so glad he made extra!).  Tossed it all together – amazing 🙂

Dessert even made an appearance tonight too and in a new way.

At this cute little book store attached to Starbucks in Chelan I picked up this book:

There are so many yummy looking recipes to try out that use a dehydrator.  Lucky me I’m borrowing one from my parents right now!

Tonight I planned to make the almond-cranberry thumbprint cookies.  The recipe called for dried cranberries, but I didn’t have any on hand so I used dries cherries.  These were so simple.  The few ingredients were flaxseed, oats, dried cherries, dried figs, almond butter and orange juice.  Pretty healthy cookie ingredients, eh?

After 2 hours Jacob, my little bro Trevor and I tried them out.  Verdict… soft and fruity.  I’m going to let them dehydrate a bit more to get a little crunch action.  I can’t wait to see how other recipes in my new book turn out!

I plan to get a nice longer run in tomorrow morning rain or shine  I’m getting out there!

 

Question: Do you have a dehydrator?  What do you like to make with it?

4 Responses to “Hamburger saves dinner”

  1. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 12, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    yum! these look so great! i do not have a dehydrator but I would love one to play around!

  2. Gina (@ Looking Forward) March 12, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    I wish I had room in my kitched to stash a dehydrator, it would be great try some raw recipies!

  3. Erica March 12, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    Great dinner! That artichoke walnut pasta sauce sounds amazing!! Glad you got a nice run in. I do not have a dehydrator but I want one

  4. Andrea@WellnessNotes March 13, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

    The dinner sounds & looks great! I love easy, healthy dinners! 🙂

    The cookies sound really good. I don’t have a dehydrator as I don’t have enough room in my kitchen…

    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

