Pina Colada for breakfast and dessert

22 Mar

Gosh it’s Monday morning already huh?           

What a busy and fun weekend I had!  Friday evening I had my aunt Arlene and Arneta and sister in law Natalie over for girls night.  We enjoyed some yummy eats.           

Roasted butternut squash, portobello mushroom and sweet onion

Spelt, kamut and oat groats

Tender spring lettuce with goat cheese and blood orange vinaigrette.

Roasted beets

The next day mom and I ran a 4 mile race with the Clark County Running Club.  It was such a gorgeous day, we talked the whole time and still ran it in 36 minutes… 9 minute miles!  I’m real proud of that 🙂           

We surprised my parents with a party on Saturday to celebrate their 25 year anniversary.  Since every year they vacation and cruise, we made the theme of the party vacationing.  I made a pina colada cake to go along with it.  The cake was super tasty and moist, but I didn’t have time to experiment with a more healthy version.           

            

Sunday I wanted to recreate the yummy flavors of pineapple and coconut in the cake.           

The Pina Colada Breakfast bar was created I(recipe coming tomorrow).           

            

I also made a bunch of freezer breakfast sandwiches for Jacob and I.  Thin whole wheat buns and spinach-eggs (pork patties added for Jacob).           

           

I do love my oatmeal in the morning, but if I bike to work a couple times this week I need something quick I can eat before I leave and after a bit when I get to work.   

After spending a ton of time in the kitchen I was ready exercise and get my body moving.  I heated up our workout room and had an amazing 90 minutes of P90X yoga.  I felt truly amazing afterward.  It was just what my body needed.         

 Remember to enter my Amazing Grass giveaway before Friday!          

     

If you place an order enter ‘healthy123’ to save 15%!

5 Responses to “Pina Colada for breakfast and dessert”

  1. Jennifer March 22, 2010 at 10:12 am #

    What a great idea to freeze your breakfast for future eats! I for sure need to do that. Good luck with the P90X. So many people I know are using that and say it’s a killer.

    http://www.fitatheart.wordpress.com

  2. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) March 22, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Those pina colada bars look great! I love anything with coconut 🙂

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 22, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    totally hear ya on the quick and easy breakfasts! yum those sandwiches look great! you should open up a deli thin shop LOL

    i LOVE roasted beets!

  4. Nicole March 22, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    9 minute miles is wonderful! You SHOULD be proud! And 90 minutes of P90X – you’re a stud!!!!

    The pina cola cake looks wonderful! Congrats to your parents on 25 years! Such a happy celebration 🙂

  5. Erica March 23, 2010 at 3:33 am #

    What a great weekend:) The girls night eats look incredible- especially those beets! And the cake you made for your parents looks amazing (who doesn’t like coconut???). Can’t wait to see the bar recipe. Have a good Tuesday

Leave a Reply

