Pina Colada breakfast bar and a disappointing nut butter

23 Mar

Even though  macadamia nuts aren’t part of a pina colada, I think of them as tropic nuts.  I was glad to use some coupons Maranatha sent me to try their macadamia and cashew butters (sorry about the flash).

The macadamia butter was nice and creamy and tasted a bit like brazil nut butter.  It worked perfectly in my Pina Colada Breakfast Bars.

Ingredients

1 cup rolled oats
1/3 cup coconut flour
1 cup fresh pineapple, diced into small pieces
4 egg whites
1/3 cup macadamia butter
1 tbsp agave
1 tbsp unsweetended shredded coconut
1 tbsp dried cranberries, roughly chopped

Pre-heat your oven to 375 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the oats, flour, pineapple, coconut and cranberries.   In a small bowl whisk the egg whites, butter and agave.  Mix the wet ingredients with the dry. 

Form into 12 bars on the baking sheet.  Bake for 15 minutes and cool on a rack.

Serves as 4 breakfasts.  Hope you like them! 

*****

Monday morning I had a great shoulder, bicep, tricep and ab workout.  Here’s what I did:

Warm up and stretch

Shoulder, bicep and tricep
Shoulder press
In and out bicep curls
Overhead tricep extention
*Repeat then 30 jumping jacks + 15 burpees

Standing I-Y-T
Single arm bicep curl
Bent over tricep extention
*Repeat then 30 jumping jacks + 15 burpees

Plunge pushup
Single arm lunge curl
Chair dips
*Repeat then 30 jumping jacks + 15 burpees

Abs – 25 of each
Cross X lift
V sit ups
In and outs
Jane Fondas (15 bent knee, 10 straigh leg)
Heels to heavens

Cool down and stretch

It was an awesome 45 minutes!  I really felt my arms after the workout and pushed myself more than usual.  I actually increased my weights to 8lb for tricep and 12.5lb during a few shoulder and bicep exercises.  First time ever.

I was starved after that and made a quick bowl of filling, creamy oats with 2 egg whites, cinnamon, flax seed and cashew butter.

Ya know what wasn’t creamy…

I was really disappointed with their cashew butter.  I opened it up, went to stir it and it was like my knife was going into a rock.  Underneath the oil it was so hard!  I had to stick it in the microwave to even get a bit of stirring going.  After much more time than I wanted to spend working on the cashew butter it was usable and did end up getting soft and creamy from the heat of my oats. 

I don’t know if it was a bad batch but I probably wouldn’t pick it up again.  It’s still not as smooth as any of my other nut butters.  It’s going to be destined for warm loat bowls… no straight up eating from the spoon 😦

Has that ever happened to you?

I’m off to bike into work… it’s supposed to be a sunny day in the 60s but 38 degrees is really cold out right now.  Hope I don’t freeze my tush too much on the way in.

5 Responses to “Pina Colada breakfast bar and a disappointing nut butter”

  1. Andrea@WellnessNotes March 23, 2010 at 5:11 am #

    The pina colada breakfast bars sound amazing! Sorry about the cashew butter….

    Have a great day! 🙂

  2. Gina (@ Looking Forward) March 23, 2010 at 8:31 am #

    The cashew butter I bought is like that too…kind of hard. I only use it with oats or blended into smoothies. The breakfast bars sound great!

  3. Jennifer March 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    Your workout looks awesome! Gotta love the bowl of oats. I have a special place in my heart for them.

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) March 24, 2010 at 6:08 am #

    ahh I thought I was the only one who didn’t like cashew butter! I am just not a fan i have tried it and not for me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rode in, Rode out « Get Healthy With Heather - March 24, 2010

    […] my ride with breakfast part 1: three of my pina colada breakfast bars and a cup of chai […]

Leave a Reply

