Of course I said yes

26 Mar

Earlier this week Jacob wanted to grill up some chicken on the BBQ in the beautiful sunshine and make dinner.  Of course I said yes 🙂

He made us huge chicken salads.  A bed of spinach, spring green and arugula topped with green onion, broccoli, hard boiled egg, grilled chicken seasoned with Emerald’s original BAM spices.  I added smashed avocado and my simple Zesty Orange Dressing to mine beasty salad.  It was so filling and simple, I want Jacob to make dinner more often!  Plus then I can just relax when I get home… I’m always good with that.

Zesty Orange Dressing

Ingredients:

1 large orange
1/4 cup extra light olive oil
1 TBSP apple cidar vinegar
pinch of sea salt, black pepper and cayanne pepper

Zest the entire orange and place the zest in a small bowl.  Cut the orange in half and squeeze all of the juice that you can get out of it (about 1/4 cup) into the bowl.  Add olive oil, vinegar, sea salt and peppers to the bowl.  Whisk to combine, or pour into a dressing jar and shake to combine.

4 Responses to “Of course I said yes”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self March 26, 2010 at 5:00 am #

    That dressing sounds really delicious and summery! I’ve been meaning to make more of my own dressings, so I’ll definitely be trying this one. 🙂

  2. Nicole March 26, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Great combo of flavors! I love juice in dressings! And I’m always a fan of being cooked for!

  3. Andrea@WellnessNotes March 26, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    Great salad! Love the dressing, and grilled chicken is sooo good!

    Happy Weekend! 🙂

  4. Jennifer March 27, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    That salad looks awesome! Maybe I should make that for dinner tonight. 🙂

Leave a Reply

