How I recover

28 Mar

The past week has been different than most.  The main difference was my transportation I took into work.

I rode my bike into work on Tuesday and Thursday, and even ran in on Friday!  I found it interesting that running the 4.25 miles into work was easier than biking.  My body is so much more used to running than biking, I guess my muscles are just adapted to it.

I’m glad that I’ve added a lot more variety to my exercise lately.  Here’s how my week went workout wise:

SundayYoga (90 minutes)

Monday: Shoulders, bicep, triceps and abs (45 minutes)

Tuesday: 4.25 mile bike ride into work (30 minutes), 4.6 mile bike ride back home (30 minutes)

Wednesday: 40 minutes of walking, plus foam rolling

Thursday: 4.25 mile bike ride into work (28 minutes), 4.6 mile bike ride back home (32 minutes), plus foam rolling

Friday: 25 minutes of swimming, 4.25 mile run into work (39:30 minutes), 30 minutes walking, plus foam rolling

Saturday: Rest

Foam rolling and my recovery socks have made a huge difference in combating DOMS.  It’s amazing how I can actually feel a difference in my legs after a bit of foam rolling. 

With all the biking I put in this week my legs started to feel extra sore.  When my first real day of soreness kicked in on Wednesday I began foam rolling each evening.  If I hadn’t done this I would probably be crazy sore still but I actually feel like I could go for a run. 

I also wore my recovery socks Marco at The Recovery Sock was kind enough to send me. 


Here’s a tid-bit about how recovery socks work:

The use of compression socks produces a major fluid shift improving venous blood return to the heart, allowing for better cardiac output thereby aiding oxygen delivery to working muscles. As a result, increased endurance and better performance are obtained during any sport activity.

Now in my words – the compression socks help circulate the blood through your feet/calves.  I could feel my lower legs warming up and blood circulating, but it wasn’t the type of uncomfortable blood circulation you feel like when you get your blood pressure checked.  They were very comfortable to wear. 

The box said that you can wear them up to 24 hours so I slept in them overnight after a difficult leg work out + running and I could actually feel an improvement in my soreness.

The recovery socks and foam rolling are definitely a lethal combo against soreness.

Question:  How do you recover from soreness?

3 Responses to “How I recover”

  1. Tina March 28, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Foam rolling is AMAZING!!! It helps me and my soreness soooo much. Glad its working for you. Definitely sounds like you need it. 🙂

  2. Erica March 28, 2010 at 9:07 pm #

    Hey girl! Love the variety in your workouts. I am also super jealous that you can run/bike to work. I wish I lived closer to my work. I need to invest in either a roller or recovery socks. My body felt especially beat up this week (due to subbing, etc…I ended up teaching 9 classes total- yikes). Extra protein seems to do my muscles well in terms of recovery (especially after lots of body pump!). Hope you have a good Monday

  3. Elle Bieling April 4, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    Congratulations on taking care of yourself and allowing recovery time. So few people do this. Yoga and foam rolling are fantastic for that!

    I am a foam rolling addict. I believe that we hold emotional junk in our tissues that foam rolling helps us to get at. Our bodies hold metaphors for those emotions that we have not acknowledged. If I foam roll, I reap the benefits of staying supple, stretched out, and body-mind-soul health! My website shows my passion, if you want to check it out. http://www.bodywindow.com

    Happy foam rolling!
    Fit at 50,
    Elle

Leave a Reply

