Pamper thy self with a face mask

31 Mar

When the weekend is over that first day back to work is always tough on me.  I’ve got a constant “case of the Mondays” as Office Space would say.  I don’t know why but it’s my least favorite day of the week.

Luckily I planned ahead the day before and prepped the crockpot for pulled pork.  It was extra nice coming home to a house that smelled amazing, plus I knew my work in the kitchen wouldn’t take that long.

BBQ pulled pork is always a favorite in our house.  I topped one halved roll I made on Sunday with some smashed avocado then pulled pork.  On the side, a nice crunchy romaine, red cabbage, red bell pepper and green onion salad with poppyseed dressing.  Crunchy salads go so well with BBQ pulled pork, I dare you to try it out.

After dinner it was pamper Heather time!  I made myself an edible face mask.  I wanted to use ingredients I knew would benefit my face so here’s what went into it.

Oatmeal Yogurt Face Mask

3 tbsp rolled oats, ground
3 tbsp plain greek yogurt
1 tsp lemon juice
1/2 tsp honey

Oats are great oil absorbers.  If your like me and have excess oil or breakouts, oats can help reduce the oil on your face.  Plus the oats act as a natural exfoliant, scrubbing away dead skin cells.

Yogurt is full of lactic acid which can help stimulate collagen production.  It’s soothing, softening and tightens your skin.

Lemon juice is an astringent.  It will help refresh your face, while removing dirt, oil and any makeup left on.

Honey is a humectant, which means it attracts and holds water.  Honey is a natural moisturizer for your skin, it helps maintain softness, suppleness and elasticity.  Bonus, it also works as an anti-irritant, so if you have sensitive skin honey should be safe to use.

I covered my washed face and neck with this edible mixture and left it on for 10 minutes.  After the 10 minutes I rinsed it all of with warm water.  Make sure to get it all orelse your face might get kind of sour smelling from any yogurt left on. 

I warmed a small wet hand towel and layed it on my face for 5 minutes.  So relaxing.

After all of this my face felt like butter, it was amazing!  The recipe makes enough for 2-3 masks, so make sure to keep the extra in your fridge, covered for the next few days.

Question: Do you use face masks?  Homemade or store bought?  What’s your favorite?

*****

A little while back 18 Rabbits sent me their Cheeky Cherry Chocolate and Nibble A Sultanato granola bars try out. 

I started out with the cherry chocolate granola bar because I had a bit of a sweet tooth going on.  It fulfilled my craving instantly, but then later on in the day I got another major sweet tooth and ate the other bar… equally tasty.  Both bars had coconut in them and I attribute  a certain sweetness in the bars to that.

I liked the list of ingredients.  I knew what they were and would eat them in my normal eats. 

The company also makes 2 kinds of granolas, Veritas Granola (hazelnuts, walnuts, flax with cocoa nibs) and Gracious Granola (pecan, almond and maple), both that I hope to try out someday.

If their bars were put infront of me again, I would definately dive into them no questions asked.  Such a nice, sweet treat.

5 Responses to “Pamper thy self with a face mask”

  1. jodie March 31, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    I have never tried homemade face masks before. Maybe I should now.

  2. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} March 31, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    I love coming home to a freshly made meal. The house smells so welcoming. I have never made pulled pork, but I should 🙂 Love face masks!

  3. Erica April 1, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    Ow! I am so trying that mask- how fun! Josh loves pulled pork and I often make it for him in our crock pot. I love meals that he or we can eat for days! Makes life so much easier 🙂 Have a great Thursday! I can’t believe its April 1 already too!

  4. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 1, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    greek yog face mask!! so awesome! i always want to make an avocado or oatmeal face mask I hear theyre great for the skin! 🙂

    those 18 rabbits bars are great!

  5. caronae April 1, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    I love pulled pork and pulled chicken! Oh I wish I had a slow-cooker. I made a mask like that about a year ago; I really want to try it again. Thanks for the reminder! A personal spa day sounds NICE 🙂

Leave a Reply

