Chia Sunrise Bars

2 Apr

Yesterday morning I ended up getting a nice, quick shoulder, bicep, triceps and ab workout in.  I didn’t know if I’d be riding my bike into work that day so I made sure to wake up and get my strength training out of the way. 

It turned out to be a beautiful, sunny day, despite the thunderstorms we had the night before so I rode the bike into work.  In between the strength training and riding out to work I enjoyed a new satisfying bar.

The Chia Sunrise Bar

Ingredients:

2 very ripe bananas, smashed
3/4 cup orange juice
2 tbsp chia seed
1 cup rolled oats
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp sea salt
2 tbsp wheat germ
2 tbsp dried cranberries
2 tbsp sliced almonds
3 tbsp quinoa flour
2 egg whites
1 egg
optional: add 2 tbsp sweetener of choice

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.  In a small bowl combine the orange juice and chia seed.  Stir it every few minutes.  The mixture should thicken after about 10 minutes.

In a small bowl combine the oats, baking powder, sea salt, wheat germ, cranberries, almonds and flour.  In a large bowl whisk the eggs in with the smashed banana.  Once the OJ-chia mixture thickens combine it with the egg and banana (add the sweetener here if you want).  Stir in the dry ingredients until all is combined.

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Using a 1/4 cup or 1/2 cup measuring cup to scoop the mixture, form them into bars on the lined baking sheet.  Depending on the size you want a 1/4 cup should make 10 bars and a 1/2 cup should make 5.

Bake for 15-18 minutes depending on the size of your bar.  Move to a wire rack once done to cool.

8 Responses to “Chia Sunrise Bars”

  1. The Candid RD April 2, 2010 at 11:54 am #

    These bars sound terrific!! I have never used quinoa flour before, but I love the idea. I don’t eat wheat so this is something I need to look into. Thanks!

    Have a great weekend.

  2. Erica April 2, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    yum! homemade bars are wayyy better than store bought. Love the use of quinoa flour- such a creative lady 🙂

  3. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} April 2, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Heather your chia sunrise bars look delicious!! I must try these. I always feel better when do my strength training, even if I only get in 20-30 minutes.

  4. jodie April 6, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    Heather, I amnot able to find quinoa flour, can any other flour be used. I am in a baking mood today.

  5. Brittany April 6, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    Mmm this bar looks AHmazing, I’m going to have to give it try. I’m happy I found your blog, it’s awesome!!

  6. margaret April 10, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    For more information about chia seeds, and some recipe ideas, check out my website: http://www.chiativity.org

  7. margaret April 10, 2010 at 6:00 am #

    P.S. I’ve posted a link to this recipe on my site.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest Post: Healthy Snacking « Preventionrd's Blog - April 24, 2010

    […] Sunrise Chia Bar – this bar isn’t very sweet, which is how I like it. You can add some sweetener to the wet ingredients to make it perfect for you. […]

Leave a Reply

