Kitchen prep time and crunchy granola

4 Apr

Happy Easter!

This morning and part of yesterday I spent the day working on a challenge:  Nicole’s  DO what you DON’T challenge for April.  I’ve challenged myself to spent 1-2 hours each Sunday prepping my food for the upcoming week to make my meal making easier and quicker.  Let’s see how I did….

Prepped and began marinading my M & M Chicken (recipe to follow later this week), cubed my beef for tomorrow’s indian crockpot meal and began defrosting my shrimp.

Roasted bell peppers, mushrooms, zucchini and red onion for our meatball and roasted veggie subs + lunch salads.  Chopped up 1/2 a cauliflower that will be roasted tomorrow.  Diced a red onion, a mango and halved macadamia nuts to go with the chicken.

Chopped up more red onion and combined it with spices for the thawing shrimp and made a batch of butternut squash dressing… it turned out more like a dip because it was super thick. 

Saturday I also started a batch of Strawberry Banana Nut Granola in the dehydrator.

24 hours later it turned out super tasty and crunchy!  I’ve found that my better batches of granola have been made in the dehydrator.

Here’s what went into it:

1 cup almonds, 1/2 cup brazil nuts and 1/2 cup macadamia nuts soaked in water for 2 hours then chopped
2 small ripe bananas, diced
1 cup diced strawberries
1/2 cup large flake coconut
1/4 cup honey
1 tsp vanilla
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 cup apple juice
1/4 cup wheat germ
1/8 tsp sea salt

Combine the nuts, strawberries, banana, coconut, wheat germ and sea salt in a large bowl.  In a smaller bowl whisk together the honey, vanilla, cinnamon and apple juice.  Mix the liquid with the nut mixture, then spread onto dehydrator sheets. 

Dehydrate for 24 hours at 120 degrees.  This will make about 6 cups of granola.

I really like how this turned out.  It’s going to be great ontop of my morning oats or some plain yogurt.

Lastly, I made whole wheat naan!  I followed this recipe, it has great instructions.  The only modifications I made was to use olive oil instead of corn oil and didn’t use quite as much flour and sesame seeds as the recipe called for.  Today’s dough was so much easier to work with than last week’s tough dough!

The recipe made 6 HUGE naan.

I may have gone a little crazy with the size.  As you can see they’re a bit bigger than 6×10.

The naan turned out real tasty, but because I rolled it out thinner than it should have been the texture was more like a pita than a nice doughy naan. 

Still it’s going to be a nice addition to our indian crockpot dinner tomorrow.

With all that prep work I really could have used this mini food processor Averie’s give away… it’s a great little kitchen gadget!

Question: Do you take time to prep for your upcoming weekly meals?

7 Responses to “Kitchen prep time and crunchy granola”

  1. Swanky Dietitian April 4, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    I am looking forward to hearing about your indian crockpot dinner!
    I always do as much prepping as I can on Sunday. I usually spend most the time prepping breakfasts and lunches (since I bring both to work). I end up getting lazy and not doing the dinner prep.
    Happy Easter!

  2. Erica April 5, 2010 at 5:00 am #

    I love prepping my meals ahead of time! Its the only way I feel like I can function properly during the week when I teach later at night 🙂 Great job! The Nann and granola both look fabulous. Hope you have a fantastic Monday

  3. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 5, 2010 at 5:45 am #

    hah I love the Naan next to your phone! it is big indeed!!! love the granola nad thank you for posting the recipe!!!

  4. Tina April 5, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    I am loving her challenge! I don’t know if I would have stepped out of the box otherwise.

  5. Nicole April 5, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Wow! You are rocking the challenge, Heather!! You did some serious prep work!

    I always prep on Sundays. Even sick and at 8pm last night after getting home from the weekend, I was meal planning and grocery shopping. It seriously makes the week so much less stressful and I sleep so well on Sundays. Always. Dinner is already ready for tonight. Some planning, but mostly just being home sick from work. 😉 Keep up the good work! You’ve got some yummy sounding recipes coming up this weekend – looking forward to them!

  6. Jennifer April 5, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    I just have to say, that I absolutely love shrimp. I just wanted you to know that. haha. I love your challenge of prepping your food for the week. I need to do that more often.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. M & M Chicken « Get Healthy With Heather - April 8, 2010

    […] Sunday during my DO what your DON’T weekly preparation time this meal was put together.  It was so […]

Leave a Reply

