M & M Chicken

8 Apr

So you’re probably thinking chocolate and chicken huh?  Thankfully no.  That doesn’t sound very appetising to me.

Mango and Macadamia Nut Chicken?  Much better.

On Sunday during my DO what your DON’T weekly preparation time this meal was put together.  It was so easy to throw everything the skillet and have dinner ready in 10 minutes.  Perfect for days when you’re short on time, or when you’re still recovering from a nasty cold like me.

Mango and Macadamia Nut Chicken

Ingredients:

2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame seed oil
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1/4 tsp ground pepper
Pinch of sea salt
2 large chicken breasts, diced
1 mango, peeled and diced
1/2 red onion, diced
1/2 cup macadamia nuts, halved
1/4 cup chives, chopped

In a large ziplock bag combine the honey, soy sauce, sesame oil, garlic, pepper and salt.  Add the chicken, seal and shake to combine.  Marinade in the fridge for 8 hours to 3 days.  You can also prep the red onion, mango and nuts and keep them in a ziplock back in the fridge until you’re ready to use them.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Add the chicken and any remaining marinade to the skillet.  Cook for 1 minute then add the mango, red onion and nuts to the pan.  Stir every so often and cook until the chicken is done which should take about 6-8 minutes.  Serves 4.

Add the chives and enjoy plain like in the bowl above. 

On top of rice like below (Jacobs).

Or on some beautiful, crisp greens mixed with a touch of oil and vinegar (mine).

The greens above came from my first CSA delivery. 

I signed up for a member’s choice CSA.  Each week I choose what I want delivered to me.

This week’s delivery included:

Broccoli rabe
Endive
1/2 a bag mixed greens
Chives
Baby hakurei turnips with tops

None of the produce is washed before being delivered so I made sure to wash all of it before putting it away… I just didn’t like the though of insects in my fridge. 

On the exercise front I haven’t done anything physical since Monday’s easy yoga video.  Cold chills don’t go well with running or lifting weights… at least if I want them to go away soon. 

I hoped to feel well enough to go on a walk with Joe this morning but don’t see it in the cards.  Rain and 50 degrees probably won’t help the golf ball feeling in my throat. 

Once I’m all healed I know my body will be craving exercise again.  I just can’t wait for that to happen!

6 Responses to “M & M Chicken”

  1. glidingcalm April 8, 2010 at 10:43 am #

    YUM! great recipe. I also particularly love your Indian Food meal from the previous post. I only got back from India in march…..but now my mouth starts to salivate when i think about the Indian flavors ill never be able to get here in the states! It just doesnt compare!

  2. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) April 8, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I love that you can choose what you get through your CSA! I can’t wait until mid-June when mine begins 🙂

    Love the addition of mango to your chicken. Feel better soon!

  3. Nicole April 8, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    I didn’t know some CSA’s allow you to choose what you want, that’s great! The M&M chicken looks delicious! I’m glad there’s some good stuff coming from doing what you don’t 😉

  4. The Candid RD April 9, 2010 at 4:21 am #

    While chocolate and chicken DOES sound great to me (Mole sauce!! it does exist and it’a fantastic) this dish looks great too. I love macadamia nuts, especially in my cookies 🙂 So why not chicken?! Thanks for sharing our recipe!

    I hope you feel better soon and can get back to exercising, but you’re smart for not pushing your luck and making it worse. Have a great weekend!

  5. Simply Life April 10, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    yum! what a great dish!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three meals, one magazine « Get Healthy With Heather - April 15, 2010

    […] so much more fresh than from the grocery store and cheaper too!  I still have produce left from my first order and it’s looks like it’s going to last a while […]

Leave a Reply

