Food and fitness go hand in hand

9 Apr

Finally a day I wake up and feel better.  Mostly better, still got a bit of the sniffles.  Walking Joe will definitely happen this morning though!  I still won’t get any heart pumpin workouts in until Sunday because I’ll be gone all day Saturday at…

a Spring Fitness and Training Forum!  I’m so excited for this.  I’ll be going to 6 different classes and here’s what I chose:

FERAL FIT
BAREFOOT TRAINING
RUNNING A SUCCESSFUL FAT LOSS PROGRAM
KETTLEBELLS FOR TRAINERS
CORE CONDITIONING COMBOS
MAT MOVES

I’ll have a recap about each class sometime afterward.  I hope to be able to incorporate some new fitness ideas to our  wellness program at work that we’re *finally* starting up.  I’m super excited to be part of the team starting up our wellness program because, well it’s important to me and I have some great ideas to share at work.

One observation I’ve made over the past few days being sick and not exercising is that my eating habits, no scratch that, eating desires have changed a bit.  When I exercise a lot my body craves healthy and good for me foods but I see that went I don’t exercise my body seems to think to want sweets and more treats.  Not normal but I’ve just gone with it. 

I enjoy what I (normally) eat and am glad that my body wants the best fuel for me, but find it interesting that as my activity level changed my stomach-brain changed a bit.

Just a little of food for though for ya…

And because what kind of post wouldn’t have pictures, here’s one of my sleepy cat Stoner.

My animals just make me laugh sometimes 🙂

6 Responses to “Food and fitness go hand in hand”

  1. Erica April 9, 2010 at 6:21 am #

    Owww! The Forum sounds awesome. Can’t wait to hear what you think of the barefoot running. Definitely report back for us 🙂 Glad you’re feeling better. It is odd how working out makes your body crave healthier foods!! I feel the exact same way. Happy weekend. Give Joe a pat from Frank 😉

  2. Nicole April 9, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    Haha, that is the sassiest kitty face I’ve ever seen! 🙂

    Have a great weekend, Heather!

  3. Swanky Dietitian April 9, 2010 at 7:20 am #

    I agree with what you said about eating and exercise. When I exercise, I want to eat healthier but when I don’t, I am more likely to go for the sweets!

    Your cat is soo cute!

  4. Naomi(onefitfoodie) April 10, 2010 at 5:38 am #

    so true about exercise and craving healthy foods!! when I don’t exercise i tend to slip up or indulge a bit more!!

    barefoot running! i have heard soo much about this!! cant wait to hear about it!

  5. Brittany April 11, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    I hope you learn a lot at the Spring Fitness & Training Forum. It sounds really interesting!!

  6. marla {family fresh cooking} April 11, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I am feeling like your sleepy cat right now. Went to bed too late last night and now I am paying the price. Can’t keep my eyes open. Looking forward to reading about your weekend. Hope you are all better for Monday 🙂

Leave a Reply

