2010 Spring Fitness and Training Forum

12 Apr

The Spring Fitness and Training Forum was a blast on Saturday!  All of the staff were energetic and fun.  Here’s a little bit about each of the sessions I attended.

Feral Fit
This was session was full of play exercise.  We ran to a nearby park and went through a series of warm ups, then through 8 different circuits.  The focus was on crawling, pushing, pulling walking, jumping, running and climbing… and being wild!  I felt like a kid again. 

Feral fitness is a comprehensive approach to health made up of the 5 Feral Fundamentals: Feral Fitness, Feral Food, Feral Fun, Feral Focus and Feral Family.  Here’s a link if you’re interested in learning more about it.  It was the most fun of the 6 sessions I went through and gave me a ton of great ideas for my bootcamp I’m starting next month.

Going Bare Running Without Shoes
We reviewed the foot and many of the muscles and bones used in running, compared the gait, posture and cadence of barefoot running to shod running and went into how to transition to barefoot running.  One of the most important points emphasised — Go Slow.  This isn’t something you can just start doing.  Your feet, legs and body aren’t used to running without support and won’t like it if you just give them up. 

A detailed 10 week training plan was laid out and covered how to increase muscle strength and flexibility, condition your feet for barefoot running, practice drills, working on your environmental awareness and relaxation, how to progress slowly to avoid injury and safety working up to running 1-3 miles barefoot. 

Also, he made a point to see that if you choose to go barefoot, you really have to commit to it.  Your foot won’t be able to properly adapt if you’re only going barefoot once a month.  Committment is key.  If you’re interested in this let me know and I’d be glad to share more on what I learned.

Running a Successfull Fat Loss Program 
This session basically reviewed a 10 week program that you can purchase from them.  A personal trainer and registered dietician talked about each of the outlined weeks.  Buying this program wasn’t something I did, nor would I need to, but it did give me a ton of great ideas for a lifestyle change group I want to start-up as part of our wellness program at work.

Kettlebells for Trainers
I hadn’t ever picked up a Kettlebell before so I was really excited to learn about them and how to use them.  We all grabbed a Kettlebell and reviewed common Kettlebell exercises, proper technique and then even went through a full body workout (with way too many squats and lunges to count).  I was sweating like crazy at the end of this!  The Kettlebell works great at strengthening your core because there is so much stabilizing going on during all of the movements.

Jacob’s excited to try them out too.  It’s just something different to add to your workouts and variety is what I’m always looking for.

Core Conditioning Combos
This class trained the entire core, and it was hardcore.  Upbeat music was used to keep the tempo up and after the warm up we went through 6 different combos, each 3 times.  The focus was on flexion, extension, rotation and lateral flexion of the core and believe me, no angle was missed.

Mat Moves
My final class was perfect to end with.  Petra Kolber, the instructor, had such a calming and easy way to her.   She combined moves from yoga, tai chi, dance and strength to create this beginner-intermediate level workout.  Each move built onto the next, so remembering what was coming next turned out to be easy.

At the end of the way I was pretty wiped out.  I left with some great ideas that I can incorporate into my own exercise routines right away.

There’s more detail I can go into about each of these sessions so if you have any questions shoot an email to gethealthywithheather@comcast.net.

12 Responses to “2010 Spring Fitness and Training Forum”

  1. Naomi (onefitfoodie) April 12, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    core conditioning combos! thats what I am all about! I dont know if I could ever do the barefoot running thing, but recently i have seen people doing it!

  2. Haleigh April 12, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    Sounds like a great class! I really need to start focusing on my core conditioning more often since my core is pretty weak but unfortunately I never find enough motivation. Hope you have a good day! xoxo

  3. cardiopizza April 12, 2010 at 7:47 am #

    I’m new to your blog 🙂

    I love going to fitness conferences and workshops! The one you went to looks awesome! Sounds like a good time with a lot of variety!

  4. Food-Fitness-FreshAir April 13, 2010 at 5:05 am #

    I really want to try barefoot running. I love being barefoot, and the idea of not even needing ANYTHING but your body to run sounds amazing to me. However, I’m always weary of what surface to choose to start running on, and always end up resorting to the track. Are there any other ideal surfaces to begin barefoot running?

    • Heather April 13, 2010 at 5:39 am #

      I think starting on grass would be a save try. That way your feet can start to adjust, but they won’t get ripped up like they would on asphalt.

  5. marla {family fresh cooking} April 13, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    What an inspirational weekend! I love kettlebells, great workout. Wish you were close by so you could train me. You have so much fitness knowledge. xxoo

  6. RunToFinish April 13, 2010 at 4:25 pm #

    Gosh this just sounds like an amazing day! I would love to find something like this going on, I think learning more about fitness is always fun and helps keep us on track!

    Also wanted to let you know about a giveawy I have going for up to $200 in running gear
    http://runtothefinish.blogspot.com/2010/04/3-changes-challenge-prizes.html

  7. Nicole April 13, 2010 at 4:48 pm #

    I want to learn how to use kettlebells, too. They intimidate me, not gunna lie!

    Pass me along your address when you get a chance, so I can send it to Vitalicious! PreventionRD@gmail.com! Congrats again!

  8. Swanky Dietitian April 13, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    Sounds like you learned a lot! Thanks for sharing. I have always wanted to try using kettlebells. I have watched videos and it seems like a great exercise!

  9. Nicole April 14, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Wow, your learning a lot. Thanks for sharing. I am going to purchase Kettlebells and add them to my workout routine. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Three meals, one magazine « Get Healthy With Heather - April 15, 2010

    […] a great Thursday, the soreness from last Saturday is finally gone… took long […]

  2. guest post! heather e. « meals & moves - July 19, 2010

    […] in April I went to a Fitness and Training Forum and got the opportunity to take 6 different classes. One that I wanted to take on bootcamps was […]

Leave a Reply

