Three meals, one magazine

15 Apr

Gosh it’s just felt like a busy week so far.  Good thing I prepped my meals again on Sunday for the  DO what you DON’T challenge.  It’s really helping me out.

Here’s a little look at some of what I did.  Sliced/diced veggies and fruit and cooked a barley/spelt mixture.

In addition I cooked up black beans, white beans and sliced up the pork and bison for meals.

I planned my meals out of my ultimate favorite magazine, Clean Eating Magazine.  There was a section of 20-minute meals so I put it to the test.

First we had Spanish Pork with Redskins and broccoli rabe on the side.  This one was okay, not the best not the worse.  We didn’t like the broccoli rabe, anyone know a good way to prepare it?  I just sauted it with some garlic and both Jacob and I didn’t like the flavor.  This meal took about 18-19 minutes.

Second came Baked Salmon with Black Bean Salsa and Quick Corn Saute.  I added a side of brussels (cause we love em!) and some sliced whole wheat rolls I’ve kept in the freezer.

The next day for lunch I took 2 small tortillas, smashed a bit of avocado on them and put left over black bean and corn mixture it them and they were just amazing.  This would be an awesome vegetarian taco filling that I know I’ll be making again.  This one took about 23-24 minutes but it’s because my salmon was a bit bigger than what the recipe called for.

 

 Our third and favorite meal was Curried Bison Biryani with Barley and Mango and a gigantic spinach salad with dried cranberries.

This had really good flavors.  I left out the tumeric in the spice mixture so it didn’t get a big curry color.  Since I cooked the grains on Sunday this meal probably took about 13 minutes to make.  Definately one we’ll be having again.

I think it’s funny that none of the recipes were actually followed exactly.  I left out ingredients based on what we had or didn’t want, and added extra vegetables for more of a punch.  That’s what’s great about cooking is that you can do what you want and meals still turn out great.

From our CSA this week I only ordered 2 things, spinach and mixed greens.  We got a ton of spinach. 

And the standard 1/2 bag of mixed greens.

 

I love that we purchase straigh from the farmer.  The produce is so much more fresh than from the grocery store and cheaper too!  I still have produce left from my first order and it’s looks like it’s going to last a while longer.

A couple days ago I received this in the mail:

My first French Press!  I won it over at One Fit Foodie from Naomi.  Thanks girl, Jacob loved using it this morning.  He said the coffee tasted great!  I can’t wait to try it out when I get a coffee craving.

Question: How do you plan your meals? Do you look through magazines, online, your favorite cook book, or do they just come straight from your brain?

Have a great Thursday, the soreness from last Saturday is finally gone… took long enough!

5 Responses to “Three meals, one magazine”

  1. Erica April 15, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    Hey girl! WOW! Great job on all the prep. Especially loving all the beans. The dishes look colorful and sound light and healthy. I want some of the Black Bean Salsa and Quick Corn Saute. I want a coffee press so bad! I’ve heard the coffee is awesome. I plan my meals by looking back at my blog, others blogs, websites, from ideas I get from watching food network, dishes at restaurants, etc, etc

  2. cardiopizza April 15, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Since I live by myself I don’t plan too many meals, there are only so many leftovers I can take!

    That being said, I’ve been trying to make one new recipe each week. I find them on blogs mostly 🙂

    I like to keep things on hand as well that i know I can whip up and enjoy (and are easy and quick!) and not have a bunch of leftovers.

  3. Naomi(onefitfoodie) April 16, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    YAY so glad you liked the french press! the coffee has such a more robust and delicious flavor with the french press! i am so glad you like it!!

    if I am in the mood for something, sometimes I will browse blogs and steal some recipes! if not I just make it up! I love experimenting in the kitchen!

  4. Haleigh April 16, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    I really want to sign up for a CSA. how do you like it? i have heard many great things!

    Wow, awesome job on the meal prepping! Meal prep is seriously crucial for me during the work week since I live about 20+ miles from my job.

    French press coffee is much better than the brewed stuff but I have to warn you.. once you start you will never go back 😉 xoxo

  5. kbwood April 16, 2010 at 6:39 am #

    Hey girl!! WOW awesome w. meal prepping!! I try to do it in college-but its hard when i am ALL OVER THE PLACE! ahh!
    i must try french press coffee!

Leave a Reply

