Training for my next half marathon

20 Apr

Since I’ve done 1 half marathon now, this time I’m going to focus on better preparation and hopefully beating my prior race time of 2:03:42.

Here are the components I’ll include in my training program: long runs, HIIT, tempo runs, hill runs, maintenance runs, easy runs, rest, strength training, biking, swimming and yoga. 

Since I know I will personally only run 3 times a week because I enjoy so many other forms of exercise too I’ll build my program around that.  Also, if you choose to use this program please note that it isn’t a beginner program.  I can comfortably go out and run 5-6 miles because I’ve built up to that before.  Make sure to only increase your weekly milage by 10% to help prevent injury.

That being said, here’s what I’ll be following (it’s a little crunched to fit the screen):

 

Week
Mon
Tues
Wed
Thurs
Fri
Sat
Sun
Total
Week of
1
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M.
S.T. + swimming
T – 4 M.
Rest
L – 6 M.
14-16
25-Apr
2
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 4 M.
S.T. + swimming
HIIT – 3 M.
Rest
L – 7 M.
15-17
2-May
3
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M.
S.T. + swimming
H – 4M.
Rest
L – 8 M.
16-18
9-May
4
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 4 M.
S.T. + biking
M – 5M.
Rest
L – 8 M.
18-20
16-May
5
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M.
S.T. + biking
T – 5M.
Rest
L – 9 M.
18-20
23-May
6
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + biking
HIIT – 3 M.
Rest
L – 6 M.
13-15
30-May
7
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + swimming
T – 6 M.
Rest
L – 10 M.
20-22
6-Jun
8
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + swimming
H – 7 M.
Rest
L – 10 M.
21-23
13-Jun
9
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + swimming
M – 7 M.
Rest
L – 11 M.
22-24
20-Jun
10
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + biking
T – 7 M.
Rest
L – 12 M.
23-35
27-Jun
11
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + biking
HIIT – 3 M.
Rest
L – 11 M.
18-20
6-Jul
12
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + biking
T – 5M.
Rest
L – 10 M.
19-21
13-Jul
13
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + swimming
T – 4 M.
Rest
L – 7 M.
15-17
20-Jul
14
1-3 M. walk/run or yoga
S.T. + biking
E – 3 M. with CCRC
S.T. + swimming
E – 3 M.
Rest
13.1 miles
20.1-22.1
27-Jul

M – Maintenance
S.T. – Strength Training
E – Easy
T – Tempo
HIIT – High Intensity Interval Training
H – Hills
L – Long

This is a guideline of what I’d like to follow.  I know that it will be modified.  I may even start out modifying it today and running my easy 3 after work instead of tomorrow… we’ll just wait and see.

Question: Do you stick to your pre-set exercise plans or do you modify?
I usually have an idea of what I want to accomplish each week and just tweak it as I go along depending on how I’m feeling.

6 Responses to “Training for my next half marathon”

  1. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self April 20, 2010 at 5:36 am #

    I’m training for my first half marathon right now. I basically have a general outline of what workouts need to be included each week, and then at the beginning of the week I look at my calendar and figure out which days will be best for which workouts. In general this has helped me stick to my plan, but I’ve also learned that you have to be flexible because sometimes life gets in the way of even the best mapped-out schedule!

    • Heather April 20, 2010 at 11:28 am #

      Yes so true Katie, you never know what might come up and being able to modify your plan makes it a lot easier in the long run.

  2. cardiopizza April 20, 2010 at 7:39 am #

    Currently I don’t have an exercise plan except to do something active most days of the week. But when I have an exercise goal, like a race, I try and stick to some sort of training plan and modify where I have to.

    Your plan looks great!

  3. Jennifer April 20, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    It looks like you’ve got a great plan going on. I had to seriously back off of mine once I hurt my knee. So right now the max I can run is 5 miles. Plus I practically have to run at the crack of dawn or at sunset in order to not sweat to death in this 80 degree Florida weather!

  4. Erica April 21, 2010 at 4:03 am #

    Hey girl! Great plan. I think cross training while running/training for a race is key. If you run too much…you’re so much more likely to injure. I mostly stick to my workout plan because it revolves around my teaching schedule 🙂

    For the pot pies, its pizza dough vs. pie dough! You can use either homemade or store bough (although I prefer homemade :)). Have a great rest of the week

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Nutty Crunch « Get Healthy With Heather - April 26, 2010

    […] exercise news I’ve been following my half marathon training schedule pretty well so far.  I was supposed to run 6 miles yesterday for my long run, but ended up going […]

Leave a Reply

