Quick Fix Oatmeal Mix

22 Apr

I’ve simplified my breakfast, and you can too with my Quick Fix Oatmeal Mix!

I put together a big mix of breakfast ‘oats’ so that all I have to do is scoop from 1 place instead of multiple jars and containers.  To make it I combined the following ingredients in a large jar:

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup barley flakes
1 cup rolled triticale
1 cup quinoa
1/2 cup wheat germ
1/4 cup ground flaxseed
1 1/2 tbsp cinnamon
3 tbsp black sesame seeds
3 tbsp sunflower seeds

Now all I have to do is heat about 1 1/4 cups water/soymilk combo on the stove, add a pinch of salt and scoop out a 1/2 cup of my Quick Fix Oatmeal Mix.  It takes about 8-10 minutes to cooked, and has such a great texture to it.  Sometimes plain oats can get mushy but with all of the variety in here you get all sorts of textures in your mouth.

According to caloriecount.com here are the nutritional stats based on 13 servings:

Nutrition Facts

Serving Size 72 g

 
Amount Per Serving
Calories  270  Calories from Fat 52
% Daily Value*
Total Fat  5.8g  9%

Saturated Fat  0.8g  4%

Trans Fat  0.0g
Cholesterol  0mg  0%
Sodium  6mg  0%
Total Carbohydrates  46.5g  15%
Dietary Fiber  7.5g  30%
Sugars  0.7g
Protein  10.4g
 
Vitamin A 0% Vitamin C 1%
Calcium 6% Iron 18%
Nutrition Grade A
* Based on a 2000 calorie diet

 

Quinoa is a great source of complete protein and offers more iron than other grains and contains high levels of potassium and riboflavin, as well as other B vitamins: B6, niacin, and thiamin. It is also a good source of magnesium, zinc, copper, and manganese, and has some folate (folic acid).

Rolled triticale is a cross between wheat and rye.  It has more protein than either of it’s parents and brings a very mild rye flavor to your bowl of oats.

Here’s my favorite way I’ve been enjoying it.

Blueberries and almond butter.  Need I say more.

Do you find ways to simplify your breakfast routine?

3 Responses to “Quick Fix Oatmeal Mix”

  1. cardiopizza April 22, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I simplify my morning routine by having the coffee ready at night so all I have to do in the morning is press “on” 🙂 The rest of my breakfast usually takes no more than 10 min.

    I can’t find Quinoa anywhere! (I currently live in a very very small town)…but once I move back to Cleveland, OH I can’t wait to stock up! I love it!

  2. marla {family fresh cooking} April 22, 2010 at 6:39 pm #

    Love breakfast here and I am always looking for ways to quicken up the process. I have never had triticale, but will try it. Your oat & whole grain breakfast mix looks wonderful. xo

  3. Kris | iheartwellness.com April 22, 2010 at 10:24 pm #

    Oh yum! I think this is an amazing idea, and I could eat it now…..

    I would die without my quinoa!

    XXOO

Leave a Reply

