Exercise and cupcakes

23 Apr

Yesterday and this morning have been filled with exercise and I loved every minute of it. 

I started my Thursday morning out with a quick, but tough chest, shoulder and tricep workout.  Moves that made my workout: slow-mo push ups, alternating shoulder press, chair dips, chest fly, frontal and lateral raises and skull crushers.  I also threw in some jumping jacks and burpees to keep my heart pumpin and it definately worked.

A little bit after that I rode my bike into work.  It was 40 degrees out and felt amazing.  I had take my coat off after about a block, I just got too warm.  I rode the bike home and just felt so energized from it.  Biking seems to do that, give me energy instead of take it away.

This morning I got to run with my mom which I always love doing.  We took off from my place and just decided to run around and explore an area where a new bridge is being put in.  After 43 minutes we were back home, so probably 4.3-4.5 miles I’d guess.  There was a killer hill we had to go up so I’ll be calling this a hill run.  I may do some ab work a bit later too.  P90X ab ripper might be calling my name.

Last weekend my family threw a babyshower for my sister in law.  I was in charge of food and cake so I made cupcakes.  The theme was jungle animals so I made sure the cupcakes went with the theme too.

I thought the elephant was the cutest 🙂

The cupcakes were orange poppyseed.  So yummy.

Want to know my tip I used to keep my cupcakes moist?  I take a toothpick and poke holes in the cakes once they cooled a bit, then I take 1/2 an orange and squeez juice all over them.

Do you have any baking tips or tricks you use?

3 Responses to “Exercise and cupcakes”

  1. Amy @ Second City Randomness April 23, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Oh those cupcakes are adorable! I’m a big cupcake person myself… and if you haven’t tried it, I suggest ganache or caramel filling to add a little “extra” to the cupcake… so yummy!

  2. Jennifer April 24, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Wow, you did an amazing job on the cupcakes! Can I just tell ya that I LOVE cake. Particularly cupcakes. I’m going to do a post soon on some better for you cupcakes. And yes, the elephant cupcake is so cute.

  3. lisaou11 May 2, 2010 at 7:57 am #

    I need you to come over and help me with my cupcakes! I just made cupcakes for a baby shower Im having later today and let me say–I did not decorate them nearly as good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

