Nutty Crunch

26 Apr

This past weekend came and went like nobodies business.  Saturday was my birthday so Jacob and I got away for the weekend.  It seems like we’re almost always gone somewhere over the weekend, but this time it was just us which was super nice.

We’d planned to hike but the rainy weather at the coast said otherwise.  On the long drive I got to try a new snack Blue Mountain Organics sent me: Better Than Roasted Just 4 Nuts.

The four nuts included almonds, cashews, pecans and walnuts.  When I opened up the bag of raw, sprouted nuts I expected to just be tasting regular bulk bin nuts from the grocery and was pleasantly surprised.  They had a nice crunch to them, especially the almonds. 

Sprouted as opposed to roasted nuts allow the enzymes to stay alive, and maximizes the nutritional value of the nuts.

Blue Mountain Organics has a whole line of raw nuts and nut butters that sound tasty, espically after being given the opportunity to try our their Just 4 Nutz.

*****

In exercise news I’ve been following my half marathon training schedule pretty well so far.  I was supposed to run 6 miles yesterday for my long run, but ended up going 7.2 miles in 66 minutes.  That means I ran 9:10 mile miles, which is pretty fast for me.  Since I went a bit longer than planned I think I’ll just stick to walking, foam rolling and some ab work today.

Feeling snacky?  Check out my healthy snacking guest post over at PreventionRD!

6 Responses to “Nutty Crunch”

  1. ultrarunnerbrianphilpot April 26, 2010 at 8:04 am #

    Wow! I gotta try those nut’s! They look good!

  2. Lauren @ Eat, Drink, and Be Hopeful April 26, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    I don’t think many people are educated on the difference between health benefits of raw and roasted nuts. I love using raw nuts to make nut butters and milks.

  3. cardiopizza April 26, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    Happy belated birthday! 🙂

  4. Swanky Dietitian April 26, 2010 at 12:15 pm #

    Happy Belated Birthday! Sounds like you two had a nice time!
    Those nuts sound great!

  5. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} April 26, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    Happy Birthday to you miss Heather!! Hope you had an excellent b’day 🙂 Gotta check out your post at PreventionRD now. xo

  6. eatingRD April 27, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    happy birthday to you! It’s nice to just have some quality time. mmm I love snacky stuff, especially a nice handful of nuts. Great run girl, looks like you are well on your way for your 1/2! That’s awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

