French sorrel you’ve won my heart

28 Apr

With my last CSA delivery I got a huge bunch of french sorrel.  My plan is to try at least 1 new vegetable each week and it was french sorrel’s turn this time.

I didn’t really know what to expect other than a green leafy kinda thing.  After I cleaned it up I tasted a piece.  Lemon.  That’s what you’re going to taste when you try french sorrel.  I think it’s going to make a great, distinct pesto when I make a batch tomorrow or the next day.

My first use of the french sorrel was in a quiche.  I like to make my own quiches at home because I know what’s in them, and I leave all the cream or heavy milk out.

French Sorrel and Mushroom Quiche with a Whole Grain Crust

This quiche puffed up so much I should have used my deeper dish!

Unfortunately I didn’t write the recipe down and the quiche kinda just got thrown together but no worries, I will try to recreate it because it was heavenly.  The touch of lemon from the french sorrel really made the dish stand out.  I went in for seconds.  Yeah, it was that good.

*****

I had a nice swim Tuesday morning.  It had been a few weeks since I was last at the pool so getting in there was fun.  The water was a bit cooler, not so fun but I warmed up quickly.  The swim was just 20 minutes long so I wanted to get a 20-30 minute strength training sesh in too but I was just sleepy tired when I got home from work. 

I pushed it off until this morning and rocked 60 minutes circuit style stength trainings and cardio.  It really kept my heart pumping.  I’m so much more motivated to work out first thing in the morning when my energy level is the highest.

What about you?  When do you like to get your sweat sesh on?

10 Responses to “French sorrel you’ve won my heart”

  1. Arlene April 28, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Sorrel is also easy to grow; we have one very large plant that I have to trim back every year, so I will save you a start

  2. Erica April 29, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    The quiche looks fabulous! I am the same way with egg dishes like that, I prefer to make it at home to lighten it up a bit 🙂 I love morning workouts but usually switch back and forth between morning and afternoon based on my teaching schedule! Its just nice to have more free time at night

  3. Jennifer April 29, 2010 at 5:28 am #

    Yea I agree, when I workout in the morning my overall outlook on the day is so much better! If I skip my morning workout, I am more likely to not do it in the afternoon or evening.

  4. Swanky Dietitian April 29, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    That quiche looks amazing! I will definitely want the recipe if you figure out how much goes in etc.

  5. Kris | iheartwellness.com April 29, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Hey Doll!! This looks so freaking good!! I must know how you made it!

    I love swimming and only seem to do it when I am in Palm Springs or on our vacations……I should get back into that!

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

    XXOO

  6. cardiopizza April 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    I’m definitely a mornin’ gal! I love an early morning workout!

    I have never even heard of french sorrel! LOL

  7. Megan (The Runner's Kitchen) April 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    I’ve never tried sorrel, but I hope I get some in my CSA this year! I love making quiches and frittatas 🙂

  8. Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries April 29, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    I really want to get into swimming, but lately I’ve been sticking to spin classes! I do them in the evening because that’s when they’re offered, but I prefer working out in the morning. Nothing like a good a.m. run to start your day!

  9. eatingRD April 30, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    I’ve actually never tried sorrel, but it sounds wonderful! omg your quiche looks perfect. I really want to get into swimming so I can try for a sprint tri. I’ll have to go sign up for a swimming class at our nearby pool 🙂 I like to workout in the am too, but it’s hard with having to be to work so darn early. So usually I’ll try to get there right after or else I don’t go back! Have a nice weekend 🙂

  10. Tammy McLeod May 1, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Beautiful quiche. Our CSA is full of spinach and swiss chard right now and I love it.

Leave a Reply

