Bootcamp Begins

5 May

Yesterday started out perfect.  I woke up with no problem, got into my running clothes for 40 degrees and rainy weather, drank a small cup of earl grey tea and set out with Joe for a 5am run. 

The weatherman’s rain prediction was nowhere to be found.  It even felt pretty comfortable temperature wise.  Joe and I ran a new 4.2 mile route in just under 42 minutes.

I find that my morning runs are usually around 10 minute miles, but I feel light on my feet and great running.  My afternoon/evening runs are usually closer to 9:00-9:30 minute miles and I feel heavier on my feet.  I’m sure it has to do with the lack of food in my stomach first thing in the morning, or maybe I’m just a morning runner… who knows 🙂

My post run breakfast was pretty and pink.

Strawberry Egg White Oats

In the mix:

1/2 cup rolled oats
1/2 cup each soy milk and water
pinch of sea salt
1 tbsp wheat germ
2 tbsp strawberry egg white protein
4 large frozen strawberries, diced

I topped it all off with almond butter, sliced almond and chia seed.

This breakfast was SO sweet!  I hadn’t tried Jay Robb’s strawberry egg white protein powder before and was overwhelmed by the sweetness.  I didn’t even use a whole serving too!

I must have had the perfect amount of protein in my breakfast though because I felt so satisfied and full for longer than normal.  Also, because it was so sweet all I wanted for my morning snack was veggies and hummus.  I had a juicy pear too but not for the sweetness, all for the juicy-ness.

Tuesday evening was the start of my bootcamp.  I haven’t mentioned anything about this yet but I decided to start a bootcamp for family and friends.  I’ve never attended an outdoor bootcamp before but have always wanted to.  The high price tag always turns me away.  This way I get to create workouts that incorporate strength training, cardio/plyo and flexibility, while making it challenging and keeping the heart pumping.

The Tuesday/Thursday classes are circuit style workouts that can be modified for all exercise levels, because all of the ladies are at different fitness levels.  Sundays will focus more on cardio/plyo, core and flexibility.

I want to find a camo exercise tank, wouldn’t that be cute for the bootcamp?  I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for one.

Have you even taken part in an outdoor bootcamp?  Was it fun?  Tell me about it!

10 Responses to “Bootcamp Begins”

  1. cardiopizza May 5, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    Are you leading the bootcamp?

    I’ve never taken an outdoor bootcamp, But I would love to sometime!

    Your breakfast looks delicious!

  2. Andrea@WellnessNotes May 5, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    I’ve never done an outdoor bootcamp, but I’ve always wanted to…

    Have fun with your bootcamp! 🙂

  3. Swanky Dietitian May 5, 2010 at 2:42 pm #

    I have never done an outdoor bootcamp, but it always sounded like fun. I am the same as you, the price always turned me away.
    I have done an indoor bootcamp class and can only go maybe once a month cause it kills!! I really should go every week.

  4. marla {Family Fresh Cooking} May 5, 2010 at 7:10 pm #

    If I lived near you I would take your boot camp and eat that yummy looking sweet strawberry oatmeal! xo

  5. Kris | iheartwellness.com May 5, 2010 at 7:34 pm #

    Hey Doll! I have never taken an outdoor boot camp, but I heard it is amazing!

    So you run twice in one day? WOW, I wish I had your running skills. I need to get better at running as all I can do is like 5 min max! But I can walk for hours…..ugh

    Your breakfast looks great! Do you prefer earl grey over coffee?

    XXOO

    • Heather May 6, 2010 at 3:59 am #

      Ya, I stopped drinking coffee a few months ago. I just feel so much better and less jittery without coffee. I do have a cup about every 1-2 weeks and usually don’t feel that great when I do.

      I didn’t run twice in 1 day, I ran in the morning then led the bootcamp in the evening… I’ve never tried running twice in 1 day. Not that hardcore yet!

  6. Jennifer May 12, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    That’s awesome that you’re leading the boot camp! I’ve never done one before, but I’ve done more than a few circuit training classes outside. I think it made the workout that much harder because of dealing with the high temps. This is Florida I’m living in 🙂 But I loved the change up from always being inside an exercise room.

  7. acountablelife May 12, 2010 at 8:30 pm #

    I’ve did three month-long sessions of outdoor, 5:30am boot camp. The first month, I did 5 days a week. I wanted to push what I was comfortable with work-out wise (not crazy about working out outside due to a lifetime of allergies…and preferring the predictability of the gym). Then I did a 4 days a week then a 3 days a week. I lost about 20lbs. The best thing was seeing the improvement in my 1 mile runs over the course of the month and the worst was doing crabwalks on gravel. We worked out in the sand, up hills, in the grass, in the rain, in the cold, in the heat, on stairs, on pavement…whatever, whereever. But it also wore me out. After 3 months I needed a break and kind of like after Biggest Loser or whatever I put back some pounds because I simply wasn’t working out as often or as hard. Boot camp is the hardest thing I’ve ever done, but I miss it. I nearly crave it. If I had the money, I’d do it again since I can’ get the inner motivation to do that kind of stuff on my own. But it did make me realize that I can do anything. If I’m nervous before a new Y class or something I just remind myself: you did bootcamp, you can do anything.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Filling foods « Get Healthy With Heather - May 6, 2010

    […] Posted on May 6, 2010 by Heather Since feeling extra full and satisfied from my strawberry egg white oats the other day I wanted to keep the feeling of fullness […]

Leave a Reply

